Monday 16 December 2019

No end to Galway's dominance in Connacht IHC final

Cappataggle 0-15 Ballyhaunis 1-10

Cappataggle overcame Ballyhaunis in a pulsating encounter
Cappataggle overcame Ballyhaunis in a pulsating encounter Newsdesk Newsdesk

The Galway stranglehold on this competition continues as Cappataggle became the ninth club from the county to win it by overcoming Ballyhaunis in a pulsating encounter.

Just 24 hours earlier, Cappataggle had been involved in a replay of the Galway final, overcoming Ahascragh-Fohenagh 0-19 to 1-8.

There was no signs of the expected fatigue in the first quarter as Cappatagle raced into a 0-4 to 0-2 lead and could have had more scores on the board but for some wayward shooting.

The key score of the first half came from man of the match and Mayo All Star Keith Higgins, who was picked out by midfield partner and brother Pierce with a long-range pass before striding through on goal and firing to the net.

The goal gave the east Mayo side a one-point half-time lead but Cappataggle got themselves back in front thanks to the accurate free-taking of Alan Dolan (who finished with 0-6) and the lively forward play of Jarlath Mannion during a strong third quarter.

The sides were level seven times in total but two scores in 60 seconds from Darragh Dolan midway through the second half was the turning point and the Galway side held on, despite the efforts of the Higgins-inspired Mayo challengers.

SCORERS - Cappataggle: A Dolan 0-6 (5fs), D Dolan, J Mannion 0-2 each, J Skehill (f), A Loughnane, K Kelly, P Egan, E Malone 0-1 each. Ballyhaunis: K Higgins 1-6, D O'Brien 0-2 (2fs), F Lyons, P Kiely 0-1 each.

CAPPATAGGLE ­- J Skehill; M Broderick, S Creavin, D Cronin; A Loughnane, P Claffe, K Kelly; J Garvey, D Joyce; D Loughnane, D Dolan, D Nevin; J Mannion, A Dolan, P Egan. Subs: E Garvey for D Loughnane, R Garvey for Egan, M Loughane for D Nevin; E Malone for J Mannion.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

BALLYHAUNIS - M Walsh: A Brennan, K Kiely, P Healy; A Lyons, E Collins, F Lyons; P Higgins, K Higgins; B Hunt, S Hoban, M Lyons; K McDermott, P Kiely, D O'Brien. Subs: T Buckley for D O'Brien, A Philips for K McDermott, L Cribbin for F Lyons.

Ref - D Fox




Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport