| 17.6°C Dublin

Nash strike helps Treaty atone for Rebel rout


Limerick manager John Kiely. Photo: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Limerick manager John Kiely. Photo: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile


Limerick manager John Kiely. Photo: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Limerick came from behind in fine fashion to beat Clare at Sixmilebridge in Round 2 of the Munster Senior Hurling league.

Smarting from a hammering by Cork at the weekend, John Kiely's men had a point to prove and duly bounced back in front of a crowd of 1,719.

At the break, Clare were one point ahead, 0-12 to 1-8. But that scoreline didn't reflect the Banner's dominance. They surged into a 0-4 to no score lead by the sixth minute with points from John Conlon, David Fitzgerald, Shane Golden and Aaron Cunningham

Limerick hit back through Ger Hegarty, Diarmuid Byrnes and John Fitzgibbon before a pair of scores helped the hosts pull away.

But Graeme Mulcahy capitalised on a mistake with a goal to level the scores before Cathal 'Tots' O'Connell pointed a free in injury time to put the Banner ahead at the break.

Clare kept their noses in front but a late goal from full-forward Barry Nash - who got away from his marker and rifled to Donal Tuohy's net - gave Limerick the lead for the first time.

An Aaron Cunningham point levelled matters but points by Paul Browne, Cian Lynch and Diarmuid Byrnes saw the Treaty men home safe.

Clare managed one late score by sub Ben O'Gorman in time added on.

scorers - Limerick: D Byrnes 0-5 (3fs), S Tobin 0-3fs, G Mulcahy, B Nash 1-0 each, J Fitzgibbon, C Lynch 0-2éach, G Hegarty, T Morrissey, P Browne 0-1 each. Clare: D Reidy (4fs), J Conlon 0-4 each, A Cunningham 0-3, S Golden 0-2, C O'Connell, D Fitzgerald, C Malone, J McCarthy, B O'Gorman 0-1 each.

CLARE - D Tuohy, S McNamara, C Dillon (capt), S Morey, D Fitzgerald, C Galvin, J Shanahan, D Reidy, S Golden, J Conlon, C Malone, P Duggan, C O'Connell, A Shanagher, A Cunningham. Subs: J McCarthy for Shanagher (h/t), B O'Gorman for Fitzgerald (61), K Hehir for Reidy (67), B Duggan for P Duggan (67).

LIMERICK- N Quaid, S Cahill, R McCarthy, M Casey, D Byrnes (Capt.), D Hannon, G O'Mahoney, J Fitzgibbon, J Ryan, G Hegarty, C Lynch, A La Touch Cosgrove, G Mulcahy, B Nash, S Tobin. Subs: K Hayes for Hegarty inj (30), T Morrissey for La Touche (50), D Dempsey for Tobin (50), P Browne for Ryan (52), S Hickey for Fitzgibbon (64).

REF - C McAllister (Cork)

Irish Independent