Wednesday 12 December 2018

Murray's long-range effort the key as Leitrim prevail

Leitrim 1-9 Sligo 0-8

Murray’s long-range free dipped under the crossbar shortly before the break. (stock picture)
Murray’s long-range free dipped under the crossbar shortly before the break. (stock picture) Sportsdesk

A fortuitous first-half goal from Cork native Ben Murray proved crucial as last year's Lory Meagher finalists Leitrim defeated Sligo in their league opener in Tourlestrane yesterday.

Murray's long-range free dipped under the crossbar shortly before the break, and helped Martin Cunniffe's side into a crucial three-point lead, 1-4 to 0-4, having played with the wind in the first-half.

A total of 13 first-half wides from the visitors looked costly, but with the wind dying down after the restart Sligo's hopes took a double-blow after they lost both midfielders - Kevin Banks to injury and Eoin McDonagh to a second yellow card.

Leitrim started with former county football goalkeeper Cathal McCrann at full-back, while veteran Clement Cunniffe was centre-back and opened the scoring from a free.

He added another soon after and Karl McDermott and Murray also pointed in the opening period.

Sligo stayed in touch with fine scores from Joe McHugh, Gary Cadden and Kieran Prior.

McHugh took his tally to four in the second period, while David Collery and Eoin Comerford also pointed, but Leitrim kept their noses in front thanks to scores from Cunniffe, Cathal O'Donovan and Zak Moradi, who hit a brace.

Scorers - Leitrim: B Murray 1-2 (1-0 f), C Cunniffe 0-3 (3f), Z Moradi 0-2, C O'Donovan, K McDermott 0-1 each

Sligo: J McHugh 0-4 (2f), G Cadden, K Prior, D Collery and E Comerford (1f) 0-1 each.

Leitrim: D Molloy 8; D Ryan 7, C McCrann 7, P Earley 7; E Moreton 7, C Cunniffe 7, D McGovern 7; J Glancy 8, C Bierne 7; C O'Donovan 7, B Murray 8, K McDermott 8; G O'Hagan 7, L Moreton 7, Z Moradi 7 Subs: K McGrath for Ryan (60), K Clerkin for O'Hagan (69).

Sligo: L Comerford 7; M Comerford 7, E Comerford 7, T Brennan 7; J Weir 7, R Cox 7, A Morrison 7; K Banks 6, E McDonagh 6; T O'Kelly-Lynch 6, G Cadden 7, J McHugh 7; K Prior 7, C O'Mahony 6, L Cadden 6 Subs: D Collery 7 for Banks (ht), D Keown 7 for O'Kelly-Lynch (50), F O'Flynn 7 for O'Mahony (58), M Burke for L Cadden (63), R Brennan for Prior (65).

REF - J Connors (Donegal).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport