Sunday 19 November 2017

Murphy the main man as Glenmore blitz lands crown

Glenmore 2-8 Eoghan Rua 0-12

Brothers Mark, Ger and Darren Aylard celebrate with the cup after the game. Photo: Ray McManus / Sportsfile
Brothers Mark, Ger and Darren Aylard celebrate with the cup after the game. Photo: Ray McManus / Sportsfile
Eoghan Rua's Declan Mullan in action against Glenmore's Alan Murphy. Photo: Cody Glenn / Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Alan Murphy bagged two goals as Glenmore took the title after a tightly contested encounter.

The favourites settled better and two goals from star man Murphy in the first half handed the Kilkenny champions a commanding seven-point lead.

Murphy's siblings Shane and Eoin also pointed and along with free-taker Mark Aylward, Glenmore looked to be cruising towards victory.

A ten-minute scoring spree of 2-4, to just one point from the Derry men, did all the damage and would prove to be the winning of the game.

However, the Derry men battled back gamely and gradually hauled the leaders back to within two points in the second half.

Coleraine dominated the second half with free-taker Ciaran Gaile converting seven points and brothers Liam, Colm and Sean Leo McGoldrick all raising the white flag as the Derry side threatened a terrific comeback.

Coleraine were visibly on top in the physical stakes with Declan Mullan the pick of their players with his lung-bursting runs.

But it was a goal Eoghan Rua needed and while they laid a late siege on the Glenmore goal, the Leinster champions held firm.

SCORERS - Glenmore: A Murphy 2-2, M Aylward 0-4fs, S Murphy, E Murphy 0-1 each. Eoghan Rua: C Gaile 0-7fs, S L McGoldrick 0-2, L McGoldrick, C McGoldrick, T Magee 0-1 each.

GLENMORE - D Aylward, S Duggan, F Freyne, S Doherty, P Roche, R Mullally, M Phelan, S Murphy, C Doherty, E Murphy, M Phelan, E Vereker, J Cody, A Murphy, M Aylward. Subs: L Hennessey for M Phelan (HT), B Doherty for M Phelan (52), D Croke for S Murphy (60).

EOGHAN RUA - P Mullan, P Dallas, L McGoldrick, C Lagan, A Rafferty, B McGoldrick, N Holly, R Leonard, T Magee, R Mooney, S L McGoldrick, C Gaile, D Mullan, C McGoldrick, C McGoldrick.

REF - J Clarke (Cavan)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport