Monday 18 December 2017

Mixed Clare injury news as Kilkenny loom large

Tony Kelly is set to make his return. Photo: Sportsfile
Tony Kelly is set to make his return. Photo: Sportsfile
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Clare's injury concerns are easing with Tony Kelly and Séadna Morey vying to be part of the squad for Sunday's league semi-final with Kilkenny.

But Shane O'Donnell and David McInerney have been ruled out while Conor Ryan has also emerged as a major doubt.

Kelly has missed much of the season with an ankle injury, while Morey has seen no action after undergoing a double hip operation.

But they have made considerable progress in recent days and weeks and could feature at some stage. Medical advice has ruled out McInerney (back) and O'Donnell (foot).

Limerick won't be able to call on Declan Hannon or Seamus Hickey for their semi-final against Waterford on Sunday. Ahead of tonight's team announcement neither player will be available because of ongoing injuries. But Tom Condon and Cian Lynch, who also missed the quarter-final win over Dublin, are back. Hannon has an ankle injury while Hickey is still labouring with hamstring trouble.


Meanwhile, Tipperary senior hurling manager Michael Ryan has added talented Thurles Sarsfields duo Stephen Cahill and Aidan McCormack to his panel ahead of the Munster SHC quarter-final with Cork on May 22.

Cahill and McCormack were two of the most impressive players for Thurles in their march to successive county titles in 2014 and 2015.

Both players were also involved in the 2012 Munster club final victory over De La Salle and in that year's county final victory over Drom & Inch McCormack was the stand-out performer, hitting 1-6 from play.

Cahill was also a key member of the Tipperary team that won the 2012 All-Ireland minor hurling title while both players have been prominent at U-21 level.

Cork have named the same U-21 football team for their All-Ireland semi-final against Monaghan in Tullamore tomorrow that beat Kerry in last week's Munster final.

Cork (U-21F v Monaghan) - A Casey; M McSweeney, J Mullins, D Quinn; K Flahive, S Cronin, K Histon; S White, S O'Leary; S O'Donoghue, S Powter, R Harkin; B Coakley, P Kelleher, M Hurley.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport