Tuesday 23 July 2019

Mitchell shines for Westmeath

Westmeath 1-25 Meath 1-13

Meath finished the game with just 13 men. Stock image: Sportsfile
Meath finished the game with just 13 men. Stock image: Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Westmeath always looked the better team as they comfortably defeated Meath in yesterday's semi-final in Kinnegad.

The home side totally dominated the first-half and they were ahead by 0-17 to 1-3 at the break.

All of Meath's scores in the opening half came from placed balls, including a sixth-minute penalty from Barry Slevin after goalkeeper Paddy Carroll was penalised.

The visitors had the gap down to seven points (0-19 to 1-9) when Westmeath's Niall Mitchell found the net in the 50th minute.

The result was in no doubt from that moment on, as Joe Quaid's charges eased to a final showdown this weekend against Antrim.

Meath finished the game with just 13 men following the dismissals of Damien Healy (a straight red card) and Ger Murphy (a second yellow).

Scorers - Westmeath: N Mitchell 1-9 (8f, 1 '65), K Doyle 0-5 (2f, 1 '65), A Devine 0-3, D Clinton, J Boyle 0-2 each, B O'Mara, S Clavin, C Shaw, R Greville 0-1 each. Meath: J Regan 0-9 (8f), B Slevin 1-2 (1-0 pen, 2f), G Foley, J O'Sullivan 0-1 each.

Westmeath - P Carroll; J Gilligan, T Doyle, N McKenna; J Bermingham, A Craig, G Greville; R Greville, S Power; J Boyle, C Shaw, A Devine; K Doyle, N Mitchell, D Clinton. Subs: S McGovern for Craig (inj, 51), S Clavin for Bermingham (55), J Galvin for Clinton (inj., 58), E Corrigan for R Greville (62), K Regan for Gilligan (62), C Lynch for Carroll (62), R Gillen for Boyle (66), B O'Mara for Devine (66), D O'Reilly G Greville (66).

Get FREE tickets to The Throw-In Live in Wexford in association with Bord Gáis Energy Click here for details

Meath - C O'Riordan; H Smith, S Brennan, S Morris; J Keena, S Whitty, S Geraghty; M Healy, B Slevin; C O'Sullivan, D Healy, A Douglas; S Quigley, A Nestor, J Regan. Subs: P Fagan for O'Riordan (h-t), D Regan for Smith (h-t), K Keena for Brennan (h-t), J O'Sullivan for Morris (h-t), G Foley for M Healy (h-t), M O'Grady for Slevin (h-t), F Ferguson for C O'Sullivan (h-t), D Kelly for Quigley (h-t), S Kelly for Nestor (h-t).

Ref - J Heffernan (Wexford).

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: D-Day looms in Castlebar, Jim Gavin’s plan for Diarmuid Connolly and the future of the Super 8s

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport