Saturday 20 January 2018

McManus leads Cushendall to twelfth Antrim crown

Cushendall1-15 St Gall's 1-5 - Antrim SHC final

Photo: Domnick Walsh / Eye Focus Ltd
Photo: Domnick Walsh / Eye Focus Ltd

Cushendall pulled away in the second half to land the title for the 12th time in their history.

They led by five points at the break, 1-6 to 1-1, with Neil McManus bagging their goal on 14 minutes. Conor Burke raised a green flag for St Gall's but they could only manage four second-half points.

CJ McGourty cut the gap to four but five points without reply sealed the deal for Cushendall. The Glensmen now face Derry's Slaughtneil in Ulster.

Scorers: Cushendall: N McManus 1-1, C McNaughton 0-4 (3fs), C Carson, P McGill 0-3, D McNaughton 0-2, P McNaughton, K McKeegan 0-1 each. St Gall's: C Burke 1-0, CJ McGourty 0-2, K McGourty (65), A Healey, J Flynn 0-1 each.

Cushendall: E Gillan; R McCambridge, M Burke, A Graffin; P McNaughton, P Burke, S Delargy; N McManus, E Campbell; S McAfee, C Carson, K McKeegan; A Delargy, D McNaughton, C McNaughton. Subs: P McGill for A Delargy (26), Shane McNaughton for K McKeegan (36), A McNaughton for E Campbell (52), E Laverty for D McNaughton (56), Seamus McNaughton for S McAfee (60)

St Gall's: P McCaffrey; T Austin, D Sheehan, J McDaniels; N O'Neill, K McGourty, T Ó Ciaran; J McGreevy, A Healey; A Gallagher, C Burke, S McAreavey; CJ McGourty, S Morrison, K Stewart. Subs: A McCaffrey for J McGreevy (26), A Hannaway for D Sheehan (42), C O'Grady for T Ó Ciaran (52), J Flynn for S McAreavey (52).

Referee: A Kelly (St John's).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport