Sunday 25 August 2019

McGovern puts on masterclass for Naas

Naas CBS 0-20 Chorca Dhuibhne 0-14

Naas CBS manager Ronan Joyce was overjoyed at the final whistle. (stock image)
Naas CBS manager Ronan Joyce was overjoyed at the final whistle. (stock image) Sportsdesk

Magnificent Naas CBS put Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne to the sword at Mallow on Saturday to qualify for their first Hogan Cup final - against St Michael's College Enniskillen next Saturday in Croke Park.

The Kildare side controlled the middle third of the pitch and the fact that they were a point adrift after a cracking opening half, 0-9 to 0-8, was self-inflicted as they shot seven wides and Alex Beirne missed a 21st-minute penalty.

A brace from the outstanding Mikey McGovern immediately after the restart set them on their way and at the end of the third quarter they were leading 0-13 to 0-11.

Between the 47th and 52nd minute they outscored Chorca Dhuibhne five points to one, and even Eamonn Fitzmaurice could not stop Naas, despite bringing keeper Deividas Uosis outfield late on.

Naas CBS manager Ronan Joyce was overjoyed at the final whistle.

"We are over the moon because that was a serious battle out there," he said.

"We got a run on PSCD in the second-half and you could see our forwards were hitting form. We just pulled enough clear that we could sit back and absorb their late pressure that we knew would come."

Scorers - Naas CBS: M McGovern 0-7 (4f), A Beirne 0-4, E Conneff 0-3, D Hannifin 0-2 (1f), T O'Connor, D Costello, P McDermott, S Murphy 0-1 each. PSCD: D Ó Geibheannaigh 0-5 (1f), R Ó Beaglaoich 0-4 (3f), D Uosis 0-2 (2f), C Ó Flannúra, C Ó Failbhe, C Ó Beaglaoich 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Naas CBS - D Morrissey; J Lawler, C Ó Gallachobair, J Hamill; K Quinn, E Archbold, K Kelleher; J Cleary, L Broderick; T O'Connor, A Beirne, D Costello; M McGovern, D Hannifin, E Conneff. Subs: P McDermott for K Kelleher (28 inj), R Monaghan for L Broderick (46), S Murphy for D Costello (46), A Cassidy for S Murphy (56 BC), M O'Byrne for D Hannifin (60).

PSCD - D Uosis; C Ó Flannúra, T Ó Dubháin, S Ó Loingsigh; S Ó Conchúir, G Ó Leidhinn, S Óg Ó Moráin; J Aghas, C Ó Muircheartaigh; C Ó Catháin , C Ó Failbhe, C Ó Muircheartaigh; D Ó Geibheannaigh , C Ó Beaglaoich , R Ó Beaglaoich Subs: C Ó Riagáin for J Aghas (21 BC), G MacCárthaigh for C Ó Catháin (58).

Ref - J Molloy (Galway).

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport