Sunday 16 December 2018

McDonald provides spark as Wexford show no mercy

Wexford 6-36 Wicklow 'A' 1-12

Conor McDonald of Wexford. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile
Conor McDonald of Wexford. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile Sportsdesk

An inspired Conor McDonald performance gave Wexford an expected easy win over Wicklow in the Walsh Cup and set up a meeting with Dublin in the semi-final.

McDonald won everything that came his way until he was called ashore in the second-half.

Of his four points from play, two could have been goals, while he had a hand in another 1-3.

Wicklow moved a man back to act as sweeper, but it didn't have the desired effect. Wicklow actually led at one point, Andy O'Brien scoring a third-minute goal, but their sweeper system left Shaun Murphy free to cut out the supply to O'Brien.

It also gave Wexford extra time around midfield to pick off a few scores - Diarmuid O'Keeffe and Garry Molloy knocked over three each - and hit accurate passes into a forward line.

Wexford led by 18 points at half-time, 2-21 to 1-6, and their substitutes looked to impress Davy Fitzgerald: Jack O'Connor, Aidan Nolan and Damien Reck each scored a goal in the last 10 minutes. Jake Firman (twice) also found the net.

Wicklow will hope to learn a few lessons as they plan another assault on Division 2B and the Christy Ring Cup.

Scorers - Wexford: J Guiney 0-11 (7fs), J Firman 2-3, C McDonald 0-6 (2f), L Rochford 1-4, J O'Connor 1-1, D Reck, A Nolan 1-0 each, G Molloy, D O'Keeffe 0-3 each, P Foley, C Flood 0-2 each, C Dunbar 0-1. Wicklow: A O'Brien 1-6 (5f), G Byrne, W Kavanagh, R Keddy, S Germaine, A Byrne, G Hughes 0-1 each.

Wexford - C O'Leary; D Byrne, E Molloy, S Murphy; G Molloy, P Foley, E Martin; A Maddock, D O'Keeffe; M O'Regan, C McDonald, C Flood; L Rochford, J Guiney, J Firman. Subs: L Chin for O'Keeffe (Blood 17-24), C Dunbar for McDonald, J O'Connor for O'Keeffe (both 43), D Reck for Foley (55, inj), A Nolan for Flood (57).

Wicklow - R Fitzgerald; E Byrne, M Verney, M O'Brien; G Byrne, W Kavanagh, E Donohoe; R Keddy, C Moorehouse; S Germaine, A Byrne, J Byrne; P Doyle, A O'Brien, G Hughes. Subs: E Keddy for Hughes (55, inj), J Tallon for Donohoe (58), C Staunton for Fitzgerald (60), J O'Brien for Doyle (61).

Ref - D Hughes (Carlow).


Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport