Sunday 25 March 2018

McCarthy earns recall for Dubs' clash with Westmeath

Jim Gavin made one change for the Leinster final
Jim Gavin made one change for the Leinster final

John Fallon

Dublin manager Jim Gavin has made one change for tomorrow's Leinster football final against Westmeath.

James McCarthy, who came on as a substitute in the semi-final win over Kildare, starts in place of John Small.

Tom Devine, a goal scorer for Waterford off the bench against Cork, starts in the only change to the Deise side for the Munster final against Tipperary, with the Modeligo man taking over from Brian O'Halloran.

Tipp manager Eamon O'Shea, meanwhile, has made two changes.

Cathal Barrett is fit to return at corner-back and takes over from the injured Paddy Stapleton, while Michael Breen comes in at right half-back in a reshuffled defence, with Conor O'Brien dropping out of the starting 15.

Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald has named an unchanged side for this evening's hurling qualifier with Cork. Team captain Patrick Donnellan returns from suspension but has to be content with a place among the subs for the clash in Thurles.

Meath football manager Mick O'Dowd has made two changes to the team that suffered a shock defeat to Westmeath in the Leinster Championship semi-final for their qualifier against Tyrone.

Conor McHugh takes over from suspended goalkeeper Paddy O'Rourke, while David Dalton comes in for Mickey Burke at wing-back as they prepare for their showdown in Omagh.

Longford captain Dermot Brady, a late withdrawal through illness against Clare, returns for this evening's clash with Kildare in Mullingar, and he takes over from Cian Farrelly.

Captain Ciarán McKeever is out for Armagh, though, with Brendan Donaghy coming in for the visit of Galway to the Athletic Grounds, while Aaron Findon is also recalled after injury in place of Tony Kernan.

Dublin (SF v Westmeath) - S Cluxton; J Cooper, R O'Carroll, P McMahon; J McCarthy, C O'Sullivan, J McCaffrey; B Fenton, MD MacAuley; P Flynn, C Kilkenny, D Connolly; D Rock, K McManamon, B Brogan.

Clare (SH v Cork) - P Kelly; D McInerney, C Dillon, S Morey; B Bugler, P O'Connor, J Browne; Conor Ryan, T Kelly; J Conlon, Colin Ryan, S Golden; D Honan, S O'Donnell, C McGrath.

Tipperary (SH v Waterford) - D Gleeson; C Barrett, J Barry, R Maher; M Breen, Padraic Maher, K Bergin; J Woodlock, S McGrath; J Forde, B Maher, Patrick Maher; J O'Dwyer, S Callanan, N O'Meara.

Waterford (SH v Tipperary) - S O'Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; T de Búrca, A Gleeson, P Mahony; J Barron, T Devine; K Moran, S Bennett, J Dillon; M Shanahan, M Walsh, C Dunford.

Meath (SF v Tyrone) - C McHugh; J McEntee, C McGill, D Tobin; D Keogan, K Reilly, D Dalton; B Menton, H Rooney; G Reilly, P Harnan, A Tormey; E Wallace, S Bray; B McMahon.

Longford (SF v Kildare) - P Collum; D Brady, B O'Farrell, F Battrim; CP Smyth, B Gilleran, D Masterson; K Diffley, M Quinn; P Gill, R McEntire, R Connor; L Connerton, B Kavanagh, D Reynolds.

Armagh (SF v Galway) - M McNeice; A Mallon, C Vernon, J Morgan; M Murray, B Donaghy, S Connell; A Findon, E Rafferty; S Campbell, A Forker, C Rafferty; M McKenna, A Murnin, J Clarke.

DERRY (SF v Wexford) - T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, D McBride; L McGoldrick, B Rogers, S L McGoldrick; N Holly,

F Doherty;B Heron, M Lynch, E Lynn; D Heavron, E Bradley, C O'Boyle.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport