Wednesday 22 November 2017

Man of the match Séamus Callanan and Tipperary dominate the Sunday Game's awards

Tipperary’s man of the match Seamus Callanan celebrates at the final whistle Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
Tipperary’s man of the match Seamus Callanan celebrates at the final whistle Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Tom Rooney

Following a superlative free-scoring display, Séamus Callanan was voted Man of the Match and Hurler of Year for spearheading Tipperary’s victory over Kilkenny in the All Ireland SHC final, while he was also one of seven players from the Premier County to be named in the Sunday Game's Team of the Year.

All three of the nominees for the Man of the Match  honour came from Tipp, as the panellists from RTÉ put forward Callanan, John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer and Ronan Maher.

Indeed, it was quite incredible to consider that not one Kilkenny player was shortlisted.

Of course, Callanan was simply unplayable at times and contributed an astonishing 13 points, four of which came from the placed ball.

O’Dwyer chipped in with 1-5, while Maher fielded Kilkenny’s booming puck outs with aplomb.

Tipp manager Michael Ryan announced Callanan as the winner live from their celebratory dinner, and the news was greeted with a rapturous applause.

Soon after, the program’s seven-man panel announced the XV hurlers to make the dream team for 2016, before giving Callanan the nod for the individual gong.

Kilkenny stopper Eoin Murphy was selected between the sticks, while Tipp’s Cathal Barrett and James Barry make up two thirds of a full back line completed by Daithi Burke of Galway.

Ahead of them is Padraig Walsh, and Maher brothers, Ronan and Padraic.

The midfield duo is Waterford’s Jamie Barron and David Burke of Galway.

The half forward trio is made up of Walter Wash of Kilkenny, Waterford tyro Austin Gleeson and Tipperary’s Patrick Maher.

At the tip of the attack is Richie Hogan, who netted a fine goal for the Cats today, and the Tipp pair of Seamus Callanan and John McGrath.

Team of the Year

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

3.James Barry (Tipperary)

4. Daithi Burke (Galway)

5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

7.Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8.Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

11. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

12. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

15. John McGrath (Tipperary)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport