Saturday 24 February 2018

Louth SHC final: Geoghegan shines as Moninne take title

Naomh Moninne 0-16 St Fechin's 0-14

(Stock picture)
(Stock picture) Sportsdesk

Naomh Moninne ended a seven-year wait to be crowned Louth champions by overcoming St Fechin's by two points in Castlebellingham.

Pitted against a Fechin's side looking to win their third title on the trot, Brian Brady's men held their nerve in a close encounter, settled by the contribution of man of the match Ronan Geoghegan, who converted all eight of his frees.

A tit-for-tat first half struggled to really open up, but Geoghegan's fifth free of the opening 30 minutes, coming in first-half stoppage time, handed the black and amber a one-point advantage, 0-9 to 0-8, going into the dressing rooms.

St Fechin's Paddy Lynch, kept his side ticking along with a host of scores and with 42 minutes on the clock, there was still just one between the teams, 0-12 to 0-11 in Moninne's favour.

John Martin drew a big round of applause with the score of the game in the 46th minute, a magnificent bit of skill to control Geoghegan's pass and tee it up for a finish all in the one movement. Moninne put some daylight between the sides when Geoghegan hit his eighth free, but the teams drew level for a fifth time thanks to Lynch.

Diarmuid Murphy put Moninne back in front with just two minutes to go and Feidhlim Joyce put the seal on victory in injury time.

Scorers - Naomh Moninne: R Geoghegan 0-8 (8f), D Murphy, J Martin 0-2 each, D Yore, A Mackin, F Joyce, N Cafferkey 0-1 each. St Fechin's: P Lynch 0-8 (7f), N Devlin, M Ryan 0-2 each, S Conneely, J Crosbie 0-1 each.

Naomh Moninne - P Delaney; P Challoner, C Lennon, A McArdle; M Fee, O Drumm, D Murphy; D O'Hanrahan, F Joyce; R Geoghegan, J Martin, P Englishby; D Yore, A Mackin, T Moore. Subs: N Cafferkey for Lennon (23), C Connolly for Moore (55), J Carter for Martin (57), S Rafferty for McArdle (58), D Connolly for Yore (60).

St Fechin's - S Hackett; B Devlin, D McDonnell, W Tracey; R Moynagh, C Ryan, O Byrne; P Lynch, I Connor; D Ryan, N Devlin, S Conneely; D Stephenson, J Crosbie, M Ryan. Subs: C McAuley for Tracey (41), P Matthews for Crosbie (41), P McCormack for Stephenson (47), L Ryan for Moynagh (60).

Ref - J McAndrew (Ballybay)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport