| 3.9°C Dublin



Limerick and Tipperary have met 66 times in the championship (64 in Munster, once in the All-Ireland semi-final (2009) and once in the All-Ireland qualifiers (2004). Tipperary have 33 wins, Limerick 23 and there have been 10 draws.

Last Five Championship Clashes

2014: Limerick 2-18, Tipperary 2-16 (Munster semi-final)

2013: Limerick 1-18, Tipperary 1-15 (Munster semi-final)

2012: Tipperary 2-20, Limerick 1-19 (Munster quarter-final)

2009: Tipperary 6-19, Limerick 2-7 (All-Ireland semi-final)

2007: Limerick 0-22, Tipperary 2-13 (Munster semi-final, after extra-time)

Did you know . . . ?

l This will be the 14th championship clash between the counties in the new millennium, with Tipperary having won seven times (2012, 2009, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2002 and 2001), Limerick three times (2014, 2013 and 2007), while there were three draws (twice in 2007 and once in 2005) in the previous 13 games.

l Tipperary are having their first outing in this year's championship while Limerick already have a win behind them, beating Clare by 1-19 to 2-15 in the Munster quarter-final.

l Limerick are bidding to reach the Munster final for a third successive year, a feat they last achieved in 1994, '95, and '96. Tipperary last reached the final in 2012.

l Eamon O'Shea, who is in his third season as Tipperary manager, has yet to record a win in the Munster Championship. Tipperary lost to Limerick in each of the last two years. Tipperary's overall championship record under O'Shea reads: Played 8, Won 4, Lost 4.

l TJ Ryan is in his second season as Limerick manager. Their championship record under him reads: Played 5, Won 3, Lost 2

Sunday Indo Sport