Monday 28 May 2018

Limerick ensure Banner clash becomes a decider

Limerick 3-16 Waterford 1-17

Limerick's Gavin O'Mahony fights for possession with Waterford's Paudie Prendergast
Photo: Matt Browne / Sportsfile
Limerick's Gavin O'Mahony fights for possession with Waterford's Paudie Prendergast Photo: Matt Browne / Sportsfile
Waterford's Shane Fives and Gavin O'Brien in action against Limerick's Graeme Mulcahy. Photo: Matt Browne / Sportsfile
Waterford's Paudie Prendergast struggles with Limerick's Thomas O’Brien. Photo: Matt Browne / Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

When Limerick face Clare at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night, it will be the final of the Munster League even though the sides were scheduled to meet at the venue in any event.

Limerick booked their place with a win over Waterford in Limerick last night thanks mainly to an impressive first half. With conditions extremely slippy it was easy to understand why they shared 32 wides over 70 minutes.

Limerick manager TJ Ryan made 13 changes from the team that beat Cork, while Derek McGrath had only one of the side who lost to Clare last Sunday on duty. Limerick got off to a blistering start with points by Thomas O'Brien, Tom Morrissey and Seanie Tobin and Morrissey goaled after four minutes following a superb save by Ian O'Regan from Tobin. A Maurice Shanahan free after five minutes was Waterford's first point but a long-range point by centre-back Diarmuid Byrnes had the home side six points clear after as many minutes.

By half-time, Limerick led by 2-12 to 1-7 with the Waterford goal being one of the highlights of the game as Austin Gleeson hit a cracker from 30 yards which gave sub keeper Barry Hennessy no chance. The visitors, despite hitting eight wides, finished the half the stronger with points by Shanahan, Barron, and Curran again.

Scorers - Limerick: D Reidy 1-5 (2f), T Morrissey 1-1, K O'Brien 1-1, S Tobin 0-3, G O,Mahony, T O'Brien and D Byrnes (1f) all 0-2. Waterford: M Shanahan 0-7 (5f), A Gleeson 1-0, J Dillon 0-3, P Curran, S Bennett 0-2; J Barron, P Hohan and S McNulty all 0-1.

Limerick - N Quaid; T Condon, R McCarthy, S O'Brien; P O'Brien, D Byrnes, W McNamara; J Fitzgibbon, P Browne; B Nash, G O'Mahony, T Morrissey; T O'Brien, D Reidy, S Tobin. Subs: B Hennessy for Quaid (29), D O'Donovan for Fitzgibbon (h-t), G Mulcahy for Reidy (53), K O'Brien for T O'Brien (53), M Reidy for Condon (55).

Waterford - I O'Regan; P Prendergast, S Fives, N Connors; S Roche, S McNulty, C Gleeson; J Barron, K Moran; C Dunford, S Bennett, J Dillon; A Gleeson, M Shanahan, P Curran. Subs: G O'Brien for Roche (24), T Devine for Moran (45), S O'Sullivan for Barron (46), P Hogan for Dunford (52), B Coughlan for Bennett (70).

Ref - P Kelly (Tipperary)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport