Monday 19 August 2019

Laois SHC final: Dowling delivers as Camross claim 25th crown

Camross 3-14 Clough-B'colla 1-19

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Camross won their 25th county hurling chamionship in O'Moore Park yesterday after a dramatic finale to this exciting encounter with Clough-Ballacolla.

Trailing by a point with four minutes of normal time left, they hit 1-2 without reply, the goal coming from substitute Mark Dowling, to lead by four in injury time, as they appeared to have it all wrapped up.

In a madcap finish, Clough-Ballacolla's Stephen Bergin scored a stunning goal to give his side a chance, but Brian Corby's late effort at an equaliser tailed off to the left.

It is Camross' first title since 2013, and they will hardly have battled harder for one, with Willie Hyland's outstanding performance (he scored 0-15) almost enough for Clough-Ballacolla.

Camross had raced into an early lead with goals from Niall Holmes and Dwane Palmer, but Clough-Ballacolla eventually settled into the game. Led by Hyland, they were within one after 20 minutes, but Camross finished the half strongly to lead 2-7 to 0-9 at the interval.

The second half saw Clough-Ballacolla, and Hyland in particular, chip away at the Camross lead. They drew level in the 54th minute and went ahead soon after, but Camross had one last surge left in them, as Dowling's late goal handed them a famous win.

Scorers - Camross: Z Keenan 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 sideline); N Holmes 1-1; D Palmer, M Dowling 1-0 each; D Delaney, G Burke 0-2 each; D Keenan, D Duggan, C Collier 0-1 each. Clough-Ballacolla: W Hyland 0-15 (0-9f, 0-1 sideline); S Bergin 1-0; R Phelan, A Corby, L Cleere, M McEvoy 0-1 each.

Camross - T Doran; J Phelan, M Burke, M Phelan; D Dooley, G Burke, D Keenan; D Duggan, T Burke; A Collier, Z Keenan, D Delaney; N Holmes, D Palmer, C Collier. Subs: M Dowling for C Collier (42), D Gilmartin for A Collier (46), L Burke for Duggan (54).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Clough-Ballacolla - D Hanlon; JA Delaney, D Maher, E Doyle; M McEvoy, R Broderick, L Cleere; T Delaney, A Corby; C Coonan, S Hanlon, R Phelan; S Bergin, W Hyland, W Dunphy. Subs: B Corby for S Hanlon (45), B McEvoy for M McEvoy (61).

Ref - A Stapleton (Rathdowney-Errill).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport