Tuesday 10 December 2019

Kerry hurlers secure first win over Cork in 127 years

Kerry 1-23 Cork 1-13

John Meyler. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
John Meyler. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

A historic day in the annals of Kerry hurling as they beat a Cork team for the first time in a competitive senior fixture since 1891, the year the Kingdom won their only All-Ireland SHC title.

However, it cannot be taken out of context as this was a Munster SHL dead rubber, with Cork boss John Meyler fielding an experimental side with Luke Meade the only regular on duty.

But credit to Kerry who trailed by 0-5 to 0-4 on 20 minutes. They then went on a 1-8 to 0-2 run before half-time and Cork could never recover as the Kerry defence, led by Bryan Murphy, Tom Murnane, Darren Dineen and Sean B Weir, excelled and up front young Shane Conway impressed along with Pádraig Boyle and Colm Harty.

passages Kerry led 1-13 to 0-6 at the interval with Cork relying on Declan Dalton for scores. John Looney got their goal after that but they never looked like getting close to Kerry. Cork had three players who did shine, goalkeeper Patrick Collins, full-back Colm Barry and wing-forward Eoghain Keniry.

"We were using the game like the previous two in the Munster League to try and find players and we were quite happy with one or two players there and that is the essence of these competitions," said Meyler. "We are focused on Kilkenny in two weeks' time."

Kerry boss Fintan O'Connor was delighted: "Cork had a young side out but any time you beat Cork you will take it and a lot of them lads won Fitzgibbon medals last year."

Scorers - Kerry: S Conway 0-10 (4fs), C Harty 1-1, P Boyle 0-4, S Nolan 0-3, S B Weir 0-2; B Barrett, D Griffin and J Goulding 0-1 each. Cork: D Dalton 0-8 (7fs), J Looney 1-0, E Keniry 0-3; L Meade and A Myers 0-1 each.

KERRY - M Stackpoole; J Buckley, J Diggins, Niall O'Mahony; S B Weir, B Murphy, D Dineen; B Barrett, D Griffin; C Harty, S Nolan, J Conway; P Boyle, S Conway, M O'Connor. Subs: S Murphy for M Stackpoole (inj 4), T Murnane for J Diggins (inj 12), J Goulding for M O'Connor (46), D Fitzell for N O'Mahony (55), D O'Carroll for D Griffin (65).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

CORK - P Collins; S Smyth, C Barry, G Murphy; R Cahalane, N O'Leary, J Cooper; C Cahalane, L Meade; E Keniry, D Dalton, J Looney; B Mulcahy, I Cahill, M Sugrue. Subs: E Clifford for R Cahalane (h-t), A Myers for B Mulcahy (h-t), S Condon for I Cahill (h-t), E Healy for G Murphy (49), P Lyons for J Looney (57).

Ref - T Walsh (Waterford)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport