Friday 13 December 2019

Kavanagh on the double for Carlow

Carlow IT 4-17 Kildare 2-14

Kevin Kelly of Kilkenny Photo by Cody Glenn/Sportsfile
Kevin Kelly of Kilkenny Photo by Cody Glenn/Sportsfile

Two second-half Martin Kavanagh goals, added to by Stephen Maher's impressive 1-7, saw Carlow IT cruise past Walsh Cup newcomers Kildare yesterday in St Conleth's.

In a first-half that saw little between the teams, Carlow IT established a three-point half-time margin (0-10 to 0-7) as both sides seemed content to begin their competitive seasons in a relaxed style.

With Maher's five first-half frees, points from Charles Dwyer and Kavanagh, and a well-saved Colin Dunford goal attempt, the Fitzgibbon League winners were able to take the first-half at their leisure.

However, manager DJ Carey then introduced fellow Kilkenny hurler Kevin Kelly at half-time and the change livened things up as the contest soon gathered pace.

Martin Kavanagh scored the first of Carlow's two goals in the 48th minute as they began to pull away.

A third Carlow goal, scored by Stephen Maher, wrapped up the game as a contest by the 61st minute.

However, two Kildare goals from Richie Ryan and Paul Divilly put a respectable complexion on the scoreboard for a while, before Carlow's John Fitzpatrick hit a fourth goal to complete a comfortable nine-point victory.

SCORERS - Carlow IT: T Marr 0-1, C Dunford 0-1, M Kavanagh 2-1, J Doyle 0-1, C Dwyer 0-3, K Kelly 0-2, S Maher 1-7, 7f, J Fitzpatrick 1-1

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Kildare: S Gainey 0-1 J Sheridan 0-1; P Moran 0-1, P Divilly 1-2, B Byrne 0-2; R Ryan 1-0 M Delaney 0-7, 6f.

Carlow IT: E Rowland; R Brown, K Hannafin, D Palmer; D O'Hanlon, D Healy, W Young; T Marr, C Dunford; M Kavanagh, J Doyle, C Dwyer; C Bolger, S Maher, J Fagan. Subs: K Kelly for Bolger (h/t); R Moran for O'Hanlon (h/t); S Phelan for Palmer (h/t); S Casey for Hannafin (h/t); M O'Hanlon for Young (51); J Fitzpatrick (1-1) for Kavanagh (54); J Cranny for Healy (57); C Madden for Casey (63); Casey for Doyle (65)

Kildare: P McKenna; C Forde, J Doran, N O'Muineachain; S Gainey, M Moloney, K Connor; R Bergin, J Sheridan; P Moran, P Divilly, B Byrne; R Ryan, M Delaney, C Bonus. Subs: G Johnson for Connor (h/t); P Ryan for Sheridan (55); T Forde for Ryan (63); C Dervan for Gainey (63)

Ref: A Keating (Dublin)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport