| 18.1°C Dublin

Kavanagh kick-starts Rathdowney-Errill to Laois glory


Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE


Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Rathdowney-Errill claimed their fifth Laois hurling title in nine years with a 13-point win over Camross in O'Moore Park.

Camross came into the game as reigning champions, and the first 15 minutes were evenly contested, until Rathdowney-Errill struck for the only goal of the game, through teenage corner-forward Mark Kavanagh. That score helped them into a six-point lead at the break, 1-10 to 0-7. Rathdowney-Errill then came out and scored to first two points of the second half to pull clear, and there would be no way back for Camross from there.

With Kavanagh and the peerless Ross King in fine form, Rathdowney-Errill powered on to the final whistle and ran out worthy winners in the end in a one-sided affair.

Scorers: Rathdowney-Errill: R King 0-10 (7fs), M Kavanagh 1-5, J Ryan, P Meehan, J Purcell, T Dowling, E Meagher 0-1 each. Camross: Z Keenan 0-5 (4fs, 1 '65), D Delaney 0-2, J Phelan, C Collier, M Collier 0-1 each.

Rathdowney-Errill: Kavanagh; A Delaney, B Campion, J Corrigan; L O'Connell, P Mahon, J Fitzpatrick; S Dollard, P Purcell; T Dowling, D King, E Meagher; M Kavanagh, R King, J Purcell. Subs: D Bowe for D King (40), J Ryan for Meagher (45), P Meehan for Dowling (54), Lar Mahon for Campion (58).

Camross: T Doran; M Burke, M Moloney, M Phelan; A Collier, G Burke, D Keenan; Z Keenan, A Moore; D Palmer, M Burke, D Gilmartin; D Delaney, C Collier, J Phelan. Subs: M Collier for Gilmartin (13), A Mortimer for T Burke (46, inj), K Lalor for J Phelan (58).

Referee: J Lalor.

Indo Sport