Tuesday 20 August 2019

Harte the goal hero as Gort edge hard-fought replay

Gort 1-17 Craughwell 1-15

Harte: Key goal for Gort. Photo: Sportsfile
Harte: Key goal for Gort. Photo: Sportsfile

Daragh Small

Galway All-Ireland winner Aidan Harte proved the hero for Gort by scoring the decisive goal as they reached the Galway SHC final with a hard-fought replay victory over Craughwell at Kenny Park.

The 29-year-old started at centre-forward and hit 1-4 from play to help his side into successive deciders - they lost last year's final to St Thomas'.

Gort will face Liam Mellows in the decider on December 3, after they recovered from the concession of a first-half Shane Dolan goal to lead by 1-8 to 1-7 at the interval.

The sides drew 1-10 to 0-13 in the first game when Greg Lally scored a late free for Gort, but on this occasion Craughwell were too dependent on Niall Healy and his ten points.

He scored a couple of early points after Stephen Hynes had notched the Craughwell opener in the fifth minute.

Aidan Helebert scored Gort's first point, from a free, two minutes later and they assumed control with four points, three from Helebert, pushing them 0-5 to 0-3 ahead after the first quarter.

Dolan hit back, and after Helebert and Healy traded points, Craughwell got their goal through their corner forward in the 28th minute.

Niall Callanan burst forward from midfield, relayed the ball to Dolan, and hit low past Gavin Lally.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.


Craughwell were 1-6 to 0-6 in front as the game entered first-half added-time but then Harte took a stranglehold on proceedings by scoring 1-2 in just two minutes.

His goal arrived in the 32nd minute and despite Thomas Monaghan's late point Craughwell were 1-8 to 1-7 in arrears at half-time.

Greg Lally popped over two frees for Gort at the start of the second half and when Harte added another point they were 1-13 to 1-9 in front with 12 minutes left.

Healy scored three late points and Monaghan doubled his tally but Caughwell's wait for a first Galway SHC title since 1931 goes on.

Scorers - Gort: A Harte 1-4; A Helebert 0-6 (5f); G Lally 0-2 (2f); J Ryan, K Higgins, R Cummins, A Mullins, J Grealish 0-1 each. Craughwell: N Healy 0-10 (7f, 0-1 65); S Dolan 1-1; T Monaghan 0-2; S Hynes, A Callanan 0-1 each.

Gort: G Lally; M Cummins, M McMahon, A Coen; P Lally, G Lally, S Og Linnane; Jack Grealish, K Higgins; A Mullins, A Harte, M Mullins; R Cummins, A Helebert, Jason Geralish. Subs: N Forde for Cummins (30), P Killilea for Jason Grealish (54), J Commins for A Mullins (59).

Craughwell: A Ryan; G O'Halloran, I Daniels, M Monaghan; A Greaney, A Cummins, S Hynes; N Callanan, N Donoghue; J Greaney, M Horan, T Monaghan; S Dolan, N Healy, J Ryan. Subs: A Callanan for Donoghue (42), C Larkin for Ryan (53), K Cullinan for N Callanan (50).

Ref: Leonard Fay (Athenry).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport