Tuesday 24 September 2019

Gilroy names three debutants for Kilkenny's Parnell visit

Hurler Paddy Smyth Photo: Sportsfile
Hurler Paddy Smyth Photo: Sportsfile
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

Dublin hurling boss Pat Gilroy is set to give Jake Malone, Paddy Smyth and Bill O'Carroll their first taste of championship hurling when Kilkenny come to Parnell Park tomorrow afternoon (throw-in 2.0).

Smyth and O'Carroll start in the full-back line while Malone, who is one of three Cuala men included in the starting line-up, is named at wing-forward.

Also included from the back-to-back All-Ireland club champions are Cian O'Callaghan at full-back and centre-back Seán Moran.

Meanwhile, Brian Cody has opted to leave Paul Murphy and Colin Fennelly on the bench for the clash. The pair missed the league campaign as they were with the Army in the Lebanon. Former Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan misses out altogether but Ger Aylward has been named at corner-forward after an injury-plagued 12 months. Brian Concannon makes his debut for Galway and James Skehill starts in goals in the only two changes from the team that secured Liam MacCarthy last year.


Elsewhere, Brian Malone will make his 150th appearance for the Wexford footballers when they face Laois tomorrow evening in Innovate Wexford Park in the Leinster SFC, leaving him just 10 short of Colm Morris's record of 160.

And the Shelmaliers man will do so alongside his brother Glen who makes his championship debut. Shane Doyle of Ballyhogue and full-forward Nick Doyle from the Starlights club also make their bows.

The Cavan footballers without captain Dara McVeety while Bryan Magee, Oisín Kiernan, Enda Flanagan and Conor Bradley all make their debuts.

Dublin (SH v Kilkenny) - A Nolan; P Smyth, C O'Callaghan, B O'Carroll; S Barrett, S Moran, C Crummy; R McBride, E O'Donnell; J Malone, C Keaney, D Sutcliffe; F Whitely, L Rushe, P Ryan.
Kilkenny (SH v Dublin) - E Murphy; J Holden, P Walsh, P Deegan; C Delaney, C Buckley, E Morrissey; R Leahy, J Maher; M Keoghan, TJ Reid, J Donnelly; B Sheehan, W Walsh, G Aylward.
Galway (SH v Offaly) - J Skehill; A Tuohy, Daithi Burke, J Hanbury; P Mannion, G McInerney, A Harte; J Coen, D Burke; C Mannion, J Canning, J Cooney; C Whelan, C Cooney, B Concannon.
Wexford (SF v Laois) - C Swaine; M Furlong, J Rossiter, C Carty; G Malone, N Rossiter, S Doyle; B Malone, D Waters; J Stafford, E Nolan, B Brosnan; P Curtis, N Doyle, D Shanley.
Cavan (SF v Donegal) - R Galligan; J McLoughlin, P Faulkner, N Murray; M Reilly, C Brady, C Moynagh; K Clarke, B Magee; C Mackey, O Kiernan, E Flanagan; C O'Reilly, G McKiernan, C Bradley.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport