Wednesday 21 February 2018

Galway's All-Ireland famine: 26 years and counting

Martin Breheny

Martin Breheny

Galway started the 1989 hurling championship as double All-Ireland champions but their three-in-a-row bid ended against Tipperary in the semi-final. Here's how they fared in five-year bands since then.


Managers: Cyril Farrell (1984-91), Jarlath Cloonan (1992-94)

Titles: 0

All-Ireland final appearances: 2 (1990,1993)

Best year: 1990 and 1993. Galway reached two All-Ireland finals, losing to Cork in 1990 and Kilkenny in 1993.

Worst year: 1991. They lost All-Ireland semi-final to Tipperary by 12 points.

Biggest miss: 1990. Galway led Cork by seven points after 45 minutes before being hit for 4-3 in the next 18 minutes. The scars from that defeat took a long time to disappear but they did eventually and Galway returned to the All-Ireland final in 1993, where they lost by five points to Kilkenny. They could have no complaints – Kilkenny were the better side.


Managers: Mattie Murphy (1995-96), Cyril Farrell (1997-98), Mattie Murphy (1999)

Titles: 1 (NHL 1996)

All-Ireland final appearances: 0

Best year: 1996. Galway won the Allianz League before losing to Wexford by three points in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Worst year: 1998. They lost the All-Ireland quarter-final to Waterford by 10 points.

Biggest miss: 1999. Galway led Clare by nine points in the All-Ireland quarter-final but were reined in. It ended level and Galway lost the replay by seven points.


Managers: Mattie Murphy (2000), Noel Lane (2001-02), Conor Hayes (2003-04)

Titles: 2 (NHL 2000, 2004)

All-Ireland final appearances: 1 (2001)

Best year: 2001. They beat Kilkenny in All-Ireland semi-final before losing by three points to Tipperary in the final.

Worst year: 2004. The NHL win counted for little as Galway lost an All-Ireland qualifier tie to Kilkenny by 20 points in one of their worst ever championship performances.

Biggest miss: 2001. Galway enjoyed no luck whatsoever in the All-Ireland final.


Managers: Conor Hayes (2005-06), Ger Loughnane (2007-08), John McIntyre (2009)

Titles: 0

All-Ireland final appearances: 1 (2005)

Best year: 2005. They beat Tipperary and Kilkenny to reach the All-Ireland final, losing to Cork by five points.

Worst year: 2008. Joe Canning scored 2-12 but it wasn't enough to prevent a two-point defeat in the All-Ireland qualifiers against a Cork side that lost goalkeeper Donal Og Cusack to a red card just before half-time.

Biggest miss: 2005. If Galway had reproduced the form shown against Tipperary and Kilkenny, they would have beaten Cork in the All-Ireland final.


Managers: John McIntyre (2010-11), Anthony Cunningham (2012-present, below)

Titles: 1 (NHL 2010)

All-Ireland final appearances: 1 (2012)

Best year: 2012. Reached the All-Ireland final and put themselves in a position to win first time out against Kilkenny.

Worst year: 2013. Expectations in Galway were understandably high but they completely flunked their two biggest tests, losing the Leinster final to Dublin by 12 points and the All-Ireland quarter-final to Clare by six points.

Biggest miss: 2012. They beat Kilkenny by 10 points in the Leinster final and led them by seven points after 32 minutes of the All-Ireland final. How much more would have it taken to tip Kilkenny over the edge? Instead, Galway allowed them back into the game, scoring only a point in the first 20 minutes of the second half. The game ended level and Kilkenny won the replay comfortably.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport