Sunday 21 January 2018

Galway match champion Cats with 12 All Star nominees as Reid, Hogan and Callanan battle for top award

Kilkenny duo Richie Hogan, pictured, and TJ Reid have been joined on the shortlist for GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year
Kilkenny duo Richie Hogan, pictured, and TJ Reid have been joined on the shortlist for GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Kilkenny duo Richie Hogan and TJ Reid have been joined on the shortlist for GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year, in association with Opel, by Tipperary's Seamus Callanan.

The list, announced today, is along expected lines with Reid and Hogan so instrumental in driving Kilkenny to an 11th All-Ireland title in 16 years.

Callanan gave the individual performance of the year when he hit 3-4 from play in Tipperary's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Galway.

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and Galway have the same number - 12 - of All-Star nominees. Only Walter Walsh, Colin Fennelly and Shane Prendergast, who replaced the injured Jackie Tyrrell who missed the All-Ireland series, miss out from the team that started against Galway.

Galway have a heavy population of nominees too with just John Hanbury, Aidan Harte and Conor Whelan from their starting team failing to make the cut at this stage.

They have one more forward nominated than the All-Ireland champions' four.

Despite losing to Tipperary in Munster final, Waterford's progressive season that saw them unbeaten through nine matches is reflected in the inclusion of 11 players, four more than Tipperary. Neither Shane McGrath nor James Woodlock, who operated as Tipp's main midfield pairing, have been included as Kilkenny, Galway and Waterford dominate the six positions.

In all, seven counties are represented with the four All-Ireland semi-finalists dominating. There are single nominations for Clare's Tony Kelly, Cork's Seamus Harnedy and Dublin's Mark Schutte. Nine of last year's team are in line for back-to-back awards, Tipperary's Darren Gleeson, John O'Dwyer, Brendan Maher, Pádraic Maher and Callanan and Kilkenny's Reid, Hogan, Paul Murphy and Cillian Buckley.

Galway have two representatives for Young Hurler of the Year, Jason Flynn and Cathal Mannion joining Waterford sweeper Tadhg de Búrca.

2015 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel


Colm Callanan (Galway), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary).


Daithí Burke (Galway), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Joey Holden (Kilkenny), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Johnny Coen (Galway), Iarla Tannion (Galway), Pádraig Mannion (Galway), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Shane Fives (Waterford), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Barry Coughlan (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford).


Andrew Smith (Galway), David Burke (Galway), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Jamie Barron (Waterford).


Tony Kelly (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Mark Schutte (Dublin), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Jason Flynn (Galway), Jonathan Glynn (Galway), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Whelan (Galway), Ger Aylward (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Colin Dunford (Waterford), Maurice Shanahan (Waterford), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Player of the Year

TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary).

Young Player of the Year

Jason Flynn (Galway), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport