Monday 19 August 2019

Galway hurlers in All-Star seventh heaven


Stephen O'Keeffe. Photo: Sportsfile
Stephen O'Keeffe. Photo: Sportsfile
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Stephen O'Keeffe has won the first big All-Star goalkeeping head-to-head of the week by edging out Cork's Anthony Nash to make the 2017 PwC All-Star hurling team.

The Waterford custodian claimed his first award on a team dominated by All-Ireland champions Galway who have seven.

The football All-Star team will also feature an intriguing head-to-head between rival goalkeepers Stephen Cluxton and David Clarke after they had exceptional seasons with Dublin and Mayo, right up to the final minutes of the All-Ireland football final.

Both were nominated on a shortlist for Footballer of the Year which is being voted on by inter-county players.

There were first-time All-Stars for four Galway hurlers - Pádraic Mannion, Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Gearóid McInerney - while team captain David Burke and Joe Canning both picked up their fourth award.

At 34, Michael 'Brick' Walsh also picked up a fourth award, 10 years after his first in 2007. He is one of five Déise hurlers to be recognised.

Attention will now turn to the Hurler of the Year with Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran on the shortlist with favourite Canning.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport