Wednesday 17 January 2018

Galway hand debut to Whelan for Cork clash

Conor Whelan scores against Limerick in the All Ireland Minor Championship Semi-Final in 2014
Conor Whelan scores against Limerick in the All Ireland Minor Championship Semi-Final in 2014

John Fallon

Galway manager Anthony Cunningham has handed a debut to teenager Conor Whelan for tomorrow's clash with Cork at Semple Stadium.

Whelan, who starred for the Galway minors last year, has been rewarded for good displays for his club Kinvara and the county intermediate side who have reached the All-Ireland final.

Whelan's inclusion is one of two changes to the side defeated by Kilkenny in the Leinster final. Fergal Moore and David Glennon drop to the bench, with Jason Flynn, fully fit again after a finger injury, starting in a reshuffled side.

Captain David Collins, who missed the Leinster final with a hamstring injury, has to be content with a place in the subs as Galway bid to set up a semi-final meeting with Tipperary. Andy Smith will skipper the side.

Dublin manager Ger Cunningham has made four changes for their clash with Waterford from the side which defeated Limerick last time out.

Cian O'Callaghan and Joey Boland come into the defence for Niall Corcoran and Shane Durkin.

And Dotsy O'Callaghan, who scored the decisive goal against Limerick after coming on, starts in place of Eamon Dillon, while Niall McMorrow takes over from Daire Plunkett in the midfield.


Derek McGrath has made two changes to the Waterford side for tomorrow's clash, with Darragh Fives starting in midfield in place of Eddie Barrett. The other change is in attack with Shane Bennett taking over from his brother Stephen in the half-forward line.

As expected, Westmeath star John Heslin will miss his side's Round 4A qualifier against Fermanagh at Breffni Park today.

The St Loman's sharpshooter suffered an ankle injury and misses out while manager Paul Cribbin has also been forced to start without captain Ger Egan after he picked up an injury in training midweek.

David Lynch completes the trio of omissions from their Leinster final defeat to Dublin with Denis Glennon, Kieran Gavin and John Connellan are all set to start.

Fermanagh boss Pete McGrath has refused to tamper with his starting 15 for their qualifier clash with Westmeath.

The northerners performed a superb comeback to oust a fancied Roscommon side last time out.

Galway (v Cork): C Callanan; J Coen, J Hanbury, P Mannion; A Harte, I Tannian, Daithi Burke; A Smith, David Burke; C Whelan, C Donnellan, J Glynn; J Flynn, J Canning, C Mannion.

Dublin (v Waterford): G Maguire; S Barrett, C O'Callaghan, P Schutte; C Crummy, L Rushe, J Boland; J McCaffrey, N McMorrow; P Ryan, R O'Dwyer, D Sutcliffe; D O'Callaghan, C Keaney, M Schutte.

Waterford (v Dublin): S O'Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; T de Burca, A Gleeson, P Mahony; J Barron, D Fives; K Moran, S Bennett, J Dillon; M Shanahan, M Walsh, C Dunford.

Westmeath (v Fermanagh): D Quinn; K Maguire, K Gavin, F Boyle; K Daly, P Holloway, J Dolan; D Corroon, P Sharry; J Gilligan, R Connellan, K Martin; J Connellan, D Glennon, S Dempsey.

Fermanagh (v Westmeath): T Treacy; M Jones, T Daly, N Cassidy; M O'Brien, R McCluskey, J McMahon; E Donnelly, R O'Callaghan; D McCusker, P McCusker, B Mulrone; T Corrigan, S Quigley, R Jones.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport