Thursday 26 April 2018

Galway dominate hurling All-Stars with 14 nominations

Galway's Joe Canning has been nominated for hurler of the year. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
Galway's Joe Canning has been nominated for hurler of the year. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Kilkenny could be without representation on the PwC hurling All-Stars for the first time in 21 years as they have just two players among the 45 nominations released today.

Cillian Buckley and TJ Reid are the only Cats candidates among a list of nominations dominated by league, Leinster and All-Ireland champions Galway.

It is the lowest number of All-Star hurling nominations during Brian Cody's 19-year reign, a reflection of how their season went.

In 2013, the only other year when they failed to reach an All-Ireland semi-final under his management, when they made it to the All-Ireland quarter-final, they still got four nominations. Not since 1996 have they failed to win an All-Star.

For the first time since 2010 Richie Hogan has failed to make the nominations list, having been an All-Star for the last three seasons and Hurler of the Year in 2014.

Goalkeeper Eoin Murphy had strong claims after a fine season but he loses out to Galway's Colm Callanan, Waterford's Stephen O'Keeffe and Cork's Anthony Nash.

The Tribesmen have 14 players going to the banquet with just Johnny Glynn from their All-Ireland final winning team missing out.

The banquet will take place on Friday, November 3, the first under the new four-year sponsorship agreement with global professional services company PwC who had previously been sponsors of the Gaelic Players Association. PwC and the GAA/GPA launched their new agreement in Croke Park yesterday.

Naturally, Waterford have also polled high with 11 nominations after they recovered from a Munster semi-final defeat to Cork.

Shane Fives and Barry Coughlan are among a quintet of All-Ireland starters who have failed to make the cut. Jake Dillon and Kieran and Shane Bennett have also been overlooked.

Six counties are represented with Cork's Munster championship success reflected in eight nominations with championship newcomers Colm Spillane and Darragh Fitzgibbon included while there's also a place for 19-year-old Mark Coleman.

Tipperary have five nominations while Wexford's rising profile that saw them reach a league semi-final and a Leinster semi-final, beating Kilkenny en route to both, have yielded a quartet of nominations for Lee Chin, Diarmuid O'Keeffe, Matthew O'Hanlon and Conor McDonald.

Clare's Shane O'Donnell is rewarded for lively performances against Limerick and Tipperary with a nomination.

PwC All-Star Hurling Nominations


C Callanan (Galway), A Nash (Cork), S O'Keeffe (Waterford),


M Coleman (Cork), Daithí Burke (Galway), G McInerney (Galway), Padraic Maher (Tipperary), P Mannion (Galway), N Connors (Waterford), T de Búrca (Waterford), A Harte (Galway), A Tuohey (Galway), D Fives (Waterford), D O'Keeffe (Wexford), C Spillane (Cork), J Hanbury (Galway), D Cahalane (Cork), C Buckley (Kilkenny), C Gleeson (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford), Matthew O'Hanlon (Wexford)


David Burke (Galway), J Barron (Waterford), B Maher (Tipperary), J Coen (Galway), D Fitzgibbon (Cork), L Chin (Wexford)


K Moran (Waterford), J Canning (Galway), C Cooney (Galway), J Cooney (Galway), P Horgan (Cork), Pauric Mahony (Waterford), J McGrath (Tipperary), M Walsh (Waterford), A Cadogan (Cork), C Whelan (Galway) C Lehane (Cork), N McGrath (Tipperary), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), A Gleeson (Waterford), S Callanan (Tipperary), S O'Donnell (Clare), C McDonald (Wexford), C Mannion (Galway).

Hurler of the Year Nominees

J Canning (Galway), K Moran (Waterford), J Barron (Waterford)

Young Hurler of the Year Nominees

M Coleman (Cork), C Gleeson (Waterford), C Whelan (Galway)


Subscribe to The Throw-In,'s weekly Championship podcast, for the best in GAA discussion and analysis every Monday, with some of the biggest names in football and hurling from Joe Brolly, Tomás Ó'Sé, Brendan Cummins and John Mullane.

Subscribe and listen to The Throw-In podcast on iTunes or SoundCloud.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport