Tuesday 24 October 2017

Gaffney pick of Orchard crop

Armagh 0-20 Down 1-15

Played in Dundalk, the Orchard side trailed early in the game as Danny Toner struck four of the game’s first five points.
Played in Dundalk, the Orchard side trailed early in the game as Danny Toner struck four of the game’s first five points.
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Armagh won promotion to Division 2A of the Allianz National Hurling League after beating rivals Down in the 2B final on Saturday.

The Orchard side, while displaying plenty of industry, were slow to make an impression on the scoreboard as Down eased into the lead with clinical finishing.

Played in Dundalk, the Orchard side trailed early in the game as Danny Toner struck four of the game's first five points.

But the Armagh side showed much more hunger and conviction but they relied on the sharpshooting of Ryan Gaffney, who finished top scorer with 11 points (ten from frees). The Mourne men displayed much more purpose in attack with Rian Branagan and Toner finding the target and when substitute Chris Egan rattled the Armagh net on 45 minutes, they closed the gap to only two points.

Armagh quickly regained control and when they needed their leaders to deliver, they did just that.

Scorers - Armagh: R Gaffney 0-11 (10f), D Coulter 0-4, S Renaghan 0-2, J Corvan, C Corvan, C Devlin 0-1 each. Down: D Toner 0-7 (4f), C Egan 1-0, C O' Prey 0-3 (3f), J McGrath 0-2, S Nicholson 0-2, R Brannigan 0-1.

ARMAGH - S Doherty 7; C Clifford 7, A McGuinness 7, C Devlin 7; K McKernan 7, S Gaffney 7, C Toner 7; S Renaghan 7, J Corvan 7; R Gaffney 8, D Coulter 8, D Carvill 7; C Carvill 7, E McGuinness 7, C Corvan 7. Subs: C Devlin 7 for McGuinness (45), P McKearney 7 for Corvan (66), P Hughes for Toner (69).

DOWN - S Keith 7; C O'Prey 7, P Flynn, S Ennis 6; J McManus 6, A O'Prey 6, J McGrath 6; C Woods 7, S Nicholson 7; F Conway 6, D Hughes 6, R Branagan 7; S Dineen 6, D Toner 7, C Mageean 6. Subs: C Egan 7 for Conway (43), P Sheehan 7 for O'Prey (48), R Campbell 6 for Brannigan (53), J Doran 6 for Dineen (63).

Ref - P Murphy (Carlow)

Corrigan seals Ernesiders' title

Fermanagh 2-13 Longford 3-8

Eight unanswered second-half points saw Lory Meagher champions Fermanagh claim the Division 3B title with two points to spare over Longford.

Two goals from Cathal Mullane helped Longford to a seven-point lead in just 10 minutes, before Fermanagh got their first goal through Ryan Bogue.

Longford restored their advantage but a mistake by keeper Reuben Murray was crucial as he lost possession and Conor McShea pounced to finish to the net. A free from Sean Corrigan sent them in 2-6 to 2-3 at the break.

Fermanagh started the second half like they'd finished the first with three points in a row. Longford got a much-needed score in the 40th minute when Joe O'Brien found the back of the net. Fermanagh drew level in the 44th minute. And a minute later another Corrigan free put them ahead for the first time.

The Ulster side went four ahead in the 54th minute. Two O'Brien frees left just two between them with eight minutes to go. Try as they might, though, Longford couldn't score again.

Scorers - Fermanagh: S Corrigan 0-5 (3f), R Bogue, C McShea 1-1 each; F McBrien, D Teague 0-2 each, J Duffy, J P McGarry 0-1 each. Longford: J O'Brien 1-4 (3f), C Mullane 2-1, P Walsh, B Hanley, K Conneely 0-1 each.

Fermanagh - C McGarry 6; A Breslin 6, M Teague 6, E Mahon 5; B Duffy 5, M Slevin 6, T Cleary 6; J Duffy 6, R Bogue 7; J P McGarry 8, F McBrien 7, R Porteous 5 (D Teague h-t, 7); S Corrigan 8, C Corrigan 5, C McShea 6 (David Teague 58).

Longford - R Murray 5; J Gaffney 5, K Murray 6, A Sheridan 6; G Moore 6, M Coyle 6, P Walsh 6; J Casey 5, B Hanley 5; P Corcoran 5, K Conneely , K Cox (J Mulhern 18, 6); J O'Brien 5, P Farrington 5, C Mullane 6.

Ref - K McGeeney (Roscommon)

Rossies run riot to clinch crown

Roscommon 4-15 Down 0-7

Roscommon eased to victory at Fr Tierney Park in Ballyshannon on Saturday to claim the Allianz Division 3A title at the expense of Monaghan.

In a close first half, Adrian Murphy's goal in the second minute gave the eventual winners an advantage they never relinquished. At half-time, Monaghan trailed 1-4 to 0-6 and they suffered badly playing against the elements in the second half.

Two goals in four minutes from Cillian Egan midway through the second half all but sealed the win.

With conditions worsening after the break, Monaghan's effort soon petered out. Roscommon picked off scores at will, with Cillian Egan, Jerry Fallon and Naos Connaughton all finding the target. Late on, substitute Chris Duignan fired a powerful effort to the net for his side's fourth goal.

Scorers - Roscommon: C Egan 2-2, J Fallon 0-6, (4f), 1 sideline), M Kelly 0-3, A Murphy, C Duignan 1-0 each, T Seale 0-2, N Connaughton, R O'Meara 0-1 each. Monaghan: S Lambe 0-5 (4f), C McKenna, F Rafter 0-1 each.

ROSCOMMON - N Fallon 7; I Delaney 7, P Kellehan 7, C Shaw 7; S Curley 7, M Kelly 8, W Boyle 7; A Moore 6, C Dolan 7; T Seale 7, E Flanagan 6, J Fallon 7; C Egan 8, R O'Meara 6, A Murphy 7. Subs: L. Kilcline for Delaney (53 mins), N. Connaughton for O'Meara (54), H. Rooney for Flanagan (59), G Egan for Murphy (61), C Duignan for Moore (67).

MONAGHAN - K Haniffy 6; B Flanagan 6, P Finnegan 7, J Guinan 6; P Treanor 6, A Kenny 7, C McKenna 8; D Crowe 7, S Forde 6; N Garland 6, M Treanor 6, C Boyle 6; F Rafter 6, S Lambe 7, B McGuigan 6. Subs: R Curran for Forde (46), A Kerr for Flanagan (57), R McNally for Boyle (60), D McGahon for Hanniffy (62), S McNally for Guinan (63 ).

REF - M Murtagh (Westmeath)

Indo Sport

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport