Wednesday 11 December 2019

Forde helps rampant UL hold DIT at arm's length

UL 3-29 DIT 4-17

DJ Foran ended with a tally of 11 points
DJ Foran ended with a tally of 11 points Sportsdesk

UL cut loose with a blizzard of points against DIT as they got their campaign off to a winning start.

UL effectively had the game sewn up by half-time with goals from Jason Forde and Pat Ryan helping them into a 2-15 to 0-7 inteval lead.

DIT were much improved after the break, scoring four goals, but UL had too much of a lead to peg back.

The home side made a lightening start, scoring 1-3 without reply - Forde finding the net after ghosting behind the DIT full-back line.

Niall O'Brien eventually got DIT on the scoreboard with the first of eight frees, but UL's second goal inside 15 minutes from Ryan put his side six points ahead.

The scores kept on coming for UL with Limerick senior panellists Ronan Lynch, Kevin O'Brien and Tom Morrissey all impressing.

With a 15-point lead at the break, UL took the foot off the pedal in the second-half and DIT took full advantage to bring the deficit back to eight at one stage.

But Forde continued to pop over points and John McGrath topped off the win with UL's third goal.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

scorers - UL: J Forde 1-9 (0-3fs), R Lynch 0-6, K O'Brien 0-5, J McGrath 1-1, P Ryan 1-0, T Morrissey, I Galvin, T Kelly 0-2 each, P Maher, D Gleeson 0-1 each. DIT: N O'Brien 1-9 (0-8fs), P Maher 2-1, D McNicholas 1-1 (1-0 pen), R Greville, J Cahill 0-2 each, N Mitchell, C Ryan 0-1 each

UL - D McCarthy; A McGuane, B Troy, P Maher; G Hegerty, C Cleary, D Fitzgerald; R Lynch, T Kelly; I Galvin, K O'Brien, T Morrissey; J McGrath, J Forde, P Ryan. Reps: S Finn for Maher (47), B Murphy for Ryan (47), J Henley for Hegarty (51), D Gleeson for Galvin (53), J Lennon for Lynch (54).

DIT - S Brennan; P Cass, C Hendricken, W Kavanagh; T Doyle, D McNicholas, L Kelly; E Dunne, J Cahill; N Mitchell, P Maher, L Blanchfield; N O'Brien, R Greville, C Ryan. Reps: C Taylor for Doyle (h-t), J McGuirk for Ryan (45), E Darcy for Kelly (49).


Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport