Thursday 12 December 2019

Flashback - This weekend in past Championship seasons

Dan Shanahan
Dan Shanahan
Cian Tracey

Cian Tracey

5 years ago this week... SHANAHAN INSPIRES RALLY - Waterford 1-16 Galway 0-16 (All-Ireland SHC Q/F) Dan Shanahan inspired Waterford to victory over Galway at Semple Stadium as the Tribesman were left stunned having led for the majority of the game.

Galway were in front from the 20th to the 71st minute, but when Davy Fitzgerald sent Shanahan on with six minutes remaining, the powerhouse forward swung the momentum back in Waterford's favour.

Damien Hayes slotted over a point in the 66th minute for a four-point lead and Galway looked certain to book a last-four meeting with Tipperary. But the Deise hit an unanswered 1-2 in the closing minutes to grab victory against all the odds.

Shanahan rattled the back of the net three minutes after coming on. Eoin Kelly held his nerve from a free to pull Waterford level before John Mullane fired over the winning point deep into injury-time to send the Waterford fans into raptures.

Limerick joined their Munster rivals in the semi-finals after clinically disposing of Dublin in what was a ruthless display of efficiency. Man of the match Gavin O'Mahony fired over eight points for the Shannonsiders.

In football, Kerry saw off Antrim (2-12 to 1-10) to set up a quarter-final meeting with Dublin, while Kildare, Meath and Donegal also advanced.

10 years ago this week....


GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Westmeath 0-12 Laois 0-10 (Leinster SFC Final Replay)

Páidí ó Sé guided Westmeath to a first ever Leinster Senior Football title as they emerged two-point winners over Mick O'Dwyer's Laois at Croke Park.

Defending champions Laois somehow trailed by 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time as Dessie Dolan began to find his range, and Westmeath hit a purple patch in the opening 15 minutes of the second period to streak into a 0-12 to 0-6 lead.

Amazingly, Westmeath wouldn't score for the remainder of the game and Laois' fightback came up just short as Westmeath wrote themselves into the history books.

Meanwhile, a 72nd-minute point from Jamesie O'Connor grabbed Clare a draw against Kilkenny at Croke Park. The Cats were awarded a penalty a minute into injury-time and when Henry Shefflin opted for the point, it looked certain that Kilkenny had booked their place in the last four of the All-Ireland Championship.

But Clare made their numerical advantage count (Tommy Walsh had been sent off earlier) when O'Connor fired over a match-saving point that earned Clare a deserved reprieve.

Cork had no such problems against Antrim as they ran riot against the northerners. Full-forward Brian Corcoran was the chief scorer as he helped himself to 2-1 to ease the Rebels through to the last four.

15 years ago this week...


Clare 3-15 Galway 2-18 (All-Ireland SHC Q/F)


A thrilling match ended in controversy when referee Pat Horgan played just five seconds of additional time when it looked like the game would go to extra-time.

Clare's hero was Seanie McMahon (above), who fired over a point to level the scores with his seventh free of the day.

Galway thought that they had earned a free when Ollie Canning was fouled by Frank Lohan but, much to their dismay, Horgan blew the final whistle and thus denied them the chance to fire over a match-winning score.

Man of the match Ollie Fahy hit 2-2 for the Tribesmen, but three Clare goals kept them in touch. Niall Gilligan, Stephen McNamara and Alan Markham all raised the green flag for the Banner.

Clare trailed by five points when Jamesie O'Connor came on, but during the sub's time on the pitch, Clare outscored Galway by 3-5 to 1-6 as they earned themselves a replay in a truly pulsating game of hurling.

Reigning All-Ireland champions Offaly crushed Antrim 4-22 to 0-12, but it came at a cost as Hubert Rigney and Kevin Martin both picked up injuries that left them doubtful for the remainder of the championship.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport