Friday 27 April 2018

Fermanagh fight back to earn NHL Division 3B title

DIVISION 3B FINAL: Fermanagh 2-13 Longford 3-08

Fermanagh will play in Division 3A of the national league next year
Fermanagh will play in Division 3A of the national league next year

A stirring second half display saw Fermanagh defeat Longford to clinch the Division 3B title and in doing so saw the Midlanders lose their second successive league final.

Longford made a great start to the game and were seven points ahead inside the opening 10 minutes thanks to two Cathal Mullane goals.

Having just registered one point in those first minutes Fermanagh got a goal in the 10th minute; Ryan Bogue with the finish.

Joe O’Brien hit over a neat point for Longford in the 17th minute before their keeper Reuben Murray denied Sean Corrigan but the loose ball was pointed by Bogue. There was seven between them in the 28th minute but a mistake by Murray allowed Conor McShea to find the back of the net. It was a lifeline for Fermanagh and a vital score. A Corrigan free before half-time cut the gap to three; 2-6 to 2-3.

Fermanagh were a different proposition in the opening exchanges of the second half. And three points in a row left one between them. Longford needing a score got a goal in the 40th minute through O’Brien but Fermanagh hit back in superb fashion and were level in the 44th minute. One minute later a Corrigan free put them ahead for the first time in the game.

They went four ahead in the 54th minute and although Longford had chances they hit some poor wides particularly from placed balls. Two O’Briens frees left two between them with eight minutes to go but try as they might Longford couldn’t find anymore scores and Fermanagh held on.

Scorers:- Fermanagh: S Corrigan 0-5 (3f), R Bogue, C McShea 1-1 each, F McBrien, D Teague 0-2 each, J Duffy, J P McGarry 0-1 each. Longford: J O’Brien 1-4 (3f), C Mullane 2-1, P Walsh, B Hanley, K Conneely 0-1 each.


Fermanagh: C McGarry; A Breslin, M Teague, E Mahon; B Duffy, M Slevin, T Cleary; J Duffy, R Bogue; J P McGarry, F McBrien, R Porteous (D Teague ht); S Corrigan, C Corrigan, C McShea (David Teague 58).


Longford: R Murray; J Gaffney, K Murray, A Sheridan; G Moore, M Coyle, P Walsh; J Casey, B Hanley; P Corcoran, K Conneely, K Cox (J Mulhern); J O’Brien, P Farrington, C Mullane.


Referee: K McGeeney (Roscommon)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport