Friday 19 January 2018

Fermanagh dedicate their 'Holy Grail' to Mulholland

Fermanagh 3-16 Sligo 1-17: Lory Meagher cup final

Fermanagh players celebrate winning the Lory Meagher Cup after a thrilling final battle with Sligo in Croke Park
Fermanagh players celebrate winning the Lory Meagher Cup after a thrilling final battle with Sligo in Croke Park
Fermanagh captain John Paul McGarry lifts the Lory Meagher Cup
Fermanagh's Ciaran Corrigan in action against Peadar Leonard of Sligo

Lory meagher Cup final Fermanagh secured the Lory Meagher Cup after a thrilling final battle with Sligo in Croke Park.

Sligo were dominant early on and went seven points up but 3-5 in the space of the last 15 minutes of the first half for Fermanagh turned the game on its head. 

Sean Corrigan and Declan McGarry with two were the goalscorers for Fermanagh.  Keith Raymond and Gerard O'Kelly-Lynch were in brilliant point-scoring form for Sligo in the first half, and indeed throughout the 70 minutes.

They were the two stand-out performers on their team.  Coupled with that the Erne defence were fouling a lot in the first half and this was not helping their cause. 

It really was looking bleak for Fermanagh but Ciaran Corrigan produced a bit of magic when they needed it most.

The left corner-forward did brilliantly to beat his man down the wing and coming in on the end-line he crossed to his brother Sean who scored to bring the Fermanagh fans to their feet.

Shell-shocked Another two goals from Declan McGarry, the first the result of a brilliant run and shot, had Fermanagh ahead at the break and Sligo looking shell-shocked. 

The Erne men were the better team in the second half but a Ciaran Brennan goal when Sligo were seven down threw them a lifeline. 

The goal came after a searing run down the heart of the Fermanagh defence by Raymond and his stinging shot could only be parried by Mark Curry into the waiting path of Brennan.

Led by the brilliant Raymond and O'Kelly-Lynch, Sligo were still very much in the game but Brian McLaughlin scored two points in the final five minutes to ensure that the Lory Meagher Cup would travel to Fermanagh for the first time. 

In his acceptance speech Fermanagh captain JP McGarry paid tribute to Shane Mulholland, a team-mate who died in a car crash earlier this year.

He said that the team had won the trophy for Shane who had described it as 'Fermanagh's Holy Grail'

Scorers - Fermanagh: D McGarry 2-2, S Corrigan 1-3, J Duffy 0-5 (4f), B McLaughlin 0-4, C Corrigan JP McGarry 0-1 each. Sligo:  K Raymond 0-9 (6f), G O'Kelly-Lynch 0-6 (2f), C Brennan 1-0, G Cadden, N Hyland 0-1 each.

Fermanagh - M Curry; David Teague, M Teague, E Mahon; K Kehoe, M Slevin, B Duffy; J Duffy, Daniel Teague; JP McGarry, D McGarry, A Breslin; S Corrigan, B McLaughlin, C Corrigan. Subs: F Bannon for Mahon (25), D Curran for Teague (70). 

Sligo - S Hayes; T Brennan, M Davey, R Redmond; E McGowan, J Kenny, A Morrison; N Hyland, G O'Kelly-Lynch; B McMahon, D Fahy, K Raymond; G Cadden, C Brennan, G Waldron. Reps, P Leonard for Fahy (31), F Keown for Redmond (38), N Cadden for G Cadden (56).

Ref - C Canning (Antrim)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport