Sunday 25 February 2018

Feeney sparks Mayo's blitz

Mayo 1-25 Roscommon 2-12

Mayo's Kenny Feeney. Photo: Sportsfile
Mayo's Kenny Feeney. Photo: Sportsfile newsdesk

Mayo proved much the better side in the second half on Saturday at Páirc Seán MacDiarmada to send Roscommon down to the Nicky Rackard Cup for 2018.

The winners only led by two at the break, with a rather soft Eamon Flanagan goal giving the Rossies a massive boost.

Mayo shot 1-14 in the second half, with Kenny Feeney unerring from play and frees, while Joseph McManus was hugely impressive at wing-forward, where he racked up 0-6. As was the case when the sides met in the league relegation playoff, Mayo's higher fitness levels proved significant.

Roscommon did get back in contention with a David Dolan goal on 46 minutes, but Darren McTigue hit back for Mayo.

Scorers - Mayo: K Feeney 0-11 (8f), J McManus 0-6, K McDermott 0-3, D McTigue 1-0, B Hunt, D McLoughlin, C Scahill, P Hickey (f), D Kenny 0-1 each. Roscommon: C Dolan 1-3, P Kelly 0-3, R Fallon 0-3 (3f), E Flanagan 1-0, S Curley (f), N Connaughton, M Beirne 0-1 each.

Roscommon - J Fallon 6; A Moore 5, P Kellehan 6, D Loughnane 6; M Beirne 6, P Kelly 7, P Nolan 5; S Curley 5, T Seale 5; E Flanagan 5, G Fallon 5, G Keenan 4; R Fallon 6, N Connaughton 5, C Dolan 7. Subs: G Egan 6 for Moore (62), D Keaveney 6 for Keenan (64), E Costello for G Fallon (68), D Dolan for Flanagan (70), H Rooney for Dolan (76).

Mayo - M Parsons 5; B Hunt 6, G McManus 7, M Morley 6; C Freeman 6, E McLoughlin 6, S Morley 7; K McDermott 8, D McLoughlin 7; J McManus 9, D Kenny 6, D McTigue 7; J Cotter 6, K Feeney 8, C. Scahill 7. Subs: S Mulroy 6 for Freeman (28), S Boland 7 for Morley (ht), C Charlton 6 for McTigue (50), P Hickey 7 for D McLoughlin (57 mins), C Murray for Cotter (71 )

Ref - R McGann (Clare)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport