Thursday 12 December 2019

Ernesiders left with no answer to Mackin

Louth 7-19 Fermanagh 0-12

Andrew Mackin put in a very impressive performance. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Andrew Mackin put in a very impressive performance. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile sportsdesk

Newly-crowned Lory Meagher champions Louth completed a memorable week by securing promotion to the Nicky Rackard Cup in the most emphatic fashion at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh.

The Wee County, who come back from 12 points down to defeat Sligo, were never seriously tested by a disappointing Fermanagh side who return to hurling's fourth tier.

The Erne men struck 12 wides in the first half alone and a far more economical Louth surged into a 4-6 to 0-5 lead with goals from Andrew Mackin, Paddy Lynch and Diarmuid Murphy.

Fermanagh threatened to make a game of it when they hit six of the next seven points either side of half-time to make it an eight-point game, with Louth down to 14 following the sending-off of Mark Wallace on 39 minutes.

Free-taker Sean Corrigan was their main scorer while Ryan Bogue pointed from a sideline cut.

However, Louth's response could not have been more impressive as they struck three goals in as many minutes including two more from the very impressive Mackin and one from David Kettle.

That left them 7-7 to 0-11 ahead, and Dee McCarthy could afford the luxury of emptying his substitutes' bench, while his Fermanagh counterpart Seamus McCusker kept his starting fifteen on the field despite the warm, humid conditions.

The Erne County did manage to halt the goal rush in the latter stages, but 14-man Louth still helped themselves to a dozen further scores, with just one in reply, to complete an impressive 28-point victory.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

SCORERS: Louth - A Mackin 4-4, P Lynch 1-2, D Murphy 1-1 (1f), D Kettle 1-1, L Dwan 0-3, S Callan, D O'Hanrahan 0-2 each, N Stanley, M Lyons, G Kane and R Byrne 0-1 each; Fermanagh - S Corrigan 0-8 (5f, 1'65), R Porteous 0-2, T Cleary and R Bogue 0-1 each.
LOUTH: J Connolly; M Wallace, R Byrne, B Minogue; M Lyons, R Maher, A McCrave; D O'Hanrahan, S Callan; A Mackin, N Stanley, D Kettle; D Murphy, L Dwan, P Lynch. Subs: G Smith for Murphy (29), G Kane 0-1 for Lynch (56), J Carter for Minogue (56), N Cafferkey for Maher (57), B Carter for Dwan (61).
FERMANAGH: C McPhillips; A Breslin, M Teague, O Russell; B Duffy, JP McGarry, T Cleary; R Bogue, C Corrigan; C McShea, R Porteous, J Gavin; S Corrigan, J Duffy, M Williamson.
REF - Eamonn Hassan (Derry)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport