Sunday 25 February 2018

Dunne hands out four debuts for Wexford's trip to Croker

Wexford's Lee Chin Paul Mohan / SPORTSFILE
Wexford's Lee Chin Paul Mohan / SPORTSFILE
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Wexford manager Liam Dunne has given Championship debuts to four players for their Leinster hurling quarter-final against Dublin tomorrow night.

Only eight of the team that started their last Championship game, a qualifier defeat to Cork last July, have been retained.

Lee Chin is injured, but a vacancy has been left at No 26 in the official list released last night which may be filled by the former dual player.

Andrew Shore, David Redmond and Sean Murphy are sidelined.

Wexford include six of the U-21 team that lost last year's All-Ireland final - Liam Ryan, Eoin Conroy, Paudie Foley, Jack O'Connor, Andrew Kenny and Conor McDonald.

O'Connor and Conroy are debutants, as are David Dunne and goalkeeper Conor O'Leary.

Kildare bring in Eoin Doyle, Peter Kelly and Emmett Bolton, for their Leinster SFC clash with Wexford.

Ciaran Fitzpatrick, Jonathan Byrne and Ryan Houlihan drop out. Daniel Flynn and Niall Kelly are injured. Neil Flynn, Kevin Feeley and Adam Tyrrell make their first Championship starts.


Leitrim give debuts to former Cavan U-21 star Nevin O'Donnell, keeper Brendan Flynn and James Rooney in their Connacht SFC clash with Roscommon.

Tyrone make two changes from the team that won the Division 2 final as they take on Derry.

Cathal McShane and Richie Donnelly come in at half-forward, with Peter Harte and Niall Sludden, who is making his Championship debut, dropping to the half-back line to cover the loss of Rory Brennan and Justin McMahon through injury.

Meanwhile, Paul Galvin looks set to link up with the Kilmacud Crokes hurling team. The Dublin club have indicated that the former Kerry footballer, who had hurled with his native Lixnaw, was interested in joining them.

Galvin is resident in Dublin but is not expected to play club football.

He has applied for a transfer from his home hurling club and the paperwork has also been signed by both the Dublin County Board and Crokes.

Wexford (SH v Dublin) - C O'Leary; L Ryan, M O'Hanlon, E Moore; D O'Keeffe, P Foley, J O'Connor; E Conroy, A Kenny; L Og McGovern, P Doran, H Kehoe; P Morris, C McDonald, D Dunne.

Tyrone (SF v Derry) - M O'Neill; A McRory, R McNamee, C McCarron; T McCann, N Sludden, P Harte; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; C McShane, M Bradley, R Donnelly; C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O'Neill.

Leitrim (SF v Roscommon) - B Flynn; M Murphy, M McWeeney, P Maguire; S McWeeney, G Reynolds, R Gallagher; D Wrynn, S Moran; J Rooney, E Mulligan, K Conlan; N O'Donnell, R Kennedy, A Croal.

Kildare (SF v Wexford)- M Donnellan; P Kelly, D Hyland, O Lyons; E Doyle, F Conway, E Bolton; K Feeley, T Moolick; A Tyrrell, E O'Flaherty, P Cribbin; E Callaghan, A Smith, N Flynn.

Kerry (SH v Offaly) - A McCabe; J Diggins, P Kelly, B Murphy; D Collins, T Murnane, K Carmody; D Dineen, J Griffin; J Goulding, S Nolan, J Conway; J Egan, B Barrett, P Lucid.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport