Saturday 20 July 2019

Dowds claims 20th title as Burt hold Setanta at bay

Burt 3-14 Setanta1-14

Burt's Ciaran Dowds won his 20th Donegal SHC crown at the weekend. Photo: Pat Murphy / SPORTSFILE
Burt's Ciaran Dowds won his 20th Donegal SHC crown at the weekend. Photo: Pat Murphy / SPORTSFILE

Chris McNulty

Ciaran Dowds won his 20th Donegal SHC crown as Burt reclaimed the title.

With 13-man Setanta refusing to lie down despite the first-half dismissals of Davin Flynn and Bernard Lafferty, Dowds was summoned from the bench for his 23rd appearance in the final.

"We're ecstatic to get over the line," Dowds said. "The last two years were a big drought in Burt. This is massive for the club."

Setanta were spurred by 12 points by Declan Coulter, but when Ronan McDermott got clear to slot home the third goal for Burt, it was game, set and match.

Burt led by six point at the break but Kevin Campbell fired in a goal off the goal-frame, and Coulter had them level with seven minutes left.

Down the home straight Burt powered on to win the title for a 39th time.

Pádraig Doherty got Burt's opening goal on 19 minutes when his tame effort squirmed out of the grasp of Setanta keeper Gary McGettigan. Pierce Harrigan soon drilled home another.

With Niall Campbell keeping the scoreboard ticking over, Burt were 2-6 to 0-6 ahead at the changeover - but they had to call on all of their experience to see it out.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers - Burt: N Campbell 0-7 (6fs), P Doherty, P Harrigan, R McDermott 1-0 each, J Boyle, C Finn 0-2 each, Caolan McDermott, E McDermott, M Dowds 0-1 each. Setanta: D Coulter 0-12 (11fs), K Campbell 1-0, D Cullen 0-2.

Burt - P Burns; M McGrath, P Doherty, D Grant; P Harrigan, Christopher McDermott, S Gillespie; C Finn, J Boyle; Caolan McDermott, R McDermott, M Dowds; N Campbell, C Carlin, E McDermott. Subs: C Dowds for Harrigan (38), M McCann for Carlin (41), K Brady for Dowds (56), E McLaughlin for E McDermott (60).

Setanta - G McGettigan; B Tourish, A McConnell, J McBride; S Anderson, M Bonner, M Callaghan; J Carlin, D Cullen; C Gallen, D Coulter, D Flynn; J McGee, K Campbell, B Lafferty. Sub: C Melaugh for McGee (50).

Ref - J Connors (St Eunan's)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport