Monday 24 September 2018

Devaney and Hayes lead from the front for Tipp

Tipperary 1-20 Limerick 1-12

A powerful attacking performance which Limerick couldn't match yielded the Munster minor hurling title for Tipperary at Semple Stadium.

The game's only goal in the 53rd minute summed up the proceedings for Tipp, created and finished by their two most dangerous forwards: James Devaney winning possession, beating his man and passing to Sean Hayes who had work to do to create space and then blast to the net to seal their victory.

Tipperary players celebrate. Photo: Sportsfile
Tipperary players celebrate. Photo: Sportsfile

After a slow start, in which they conceded early points to Bob Purcell and Cathal O'Neill, Tipperary were largely on top for the first half.

Three points within two minutes by Devaney and the impressive Hayes, twice, put them in front and after another free by Limerick's Cathal O'Neill, they rattled off six in a row.

Max Hackett and John Campion had their noses ahead in the centre while Hayes, Cian O'Farrell and Devaney caused all sorts of mayhem for the Limerick defence. Ryan Renehan converted with a sideline cut for good measure.

By half-time, Tipp were 0-12 to 0-7 ahead, Limerick staying in touch thanks to Cathal O'Neill's accuracy and some fine interventions by Bob Purcell and Patrick Kirby, while Michael Keane and Padraig Harnett were strong at the back.

Limerick had too many wides in that second half overall, and when they needed a goal they were foiled by Tipp goalkeeper Aaron Browne, who deflected a powerful Barry O'Connor shot over the bar.

The opening goal, when it did come, was at the other end and gave Tipp sufficient breathing space to close out the game, despite Bryan Nix's injury-time green flag for Limerick.

Scorers - Tipperary: J Devaney 0-8 (4f, 1 '65'); S Hayes 1-3; S Phelan, C O'Farrell, R Renehan (1sl) 0-2 each; K O'Kelly, M Hackett, M O'Shea 0-1 each. Limerick: C O'Neill 0-6 (5f); C Ryan 0-3; B Nix 1-0; P Kirby, B O'Connor, B Purcell 0-1 each.

Tipperary - A Browne; C O'Dwyer, C Whelan, K Hayes; J Ryan, F Purcell, S Phelan; M Hackett, J Campion; S Hayes, C O'Farrell, K O'Kelly; D Ryan, R Renehan, J Devaney. Subs: M O'Shea for R Renehan (45), J Morrissey for J Campion (48), K Maher for M Hackett (56), B O'Connor for D Ryan (60), F Hanafin for S Phelan (60).

Limerick - B Heavey; P Harnett, B Herlihy, M Keane; E O'Mahony, E McEvoy, J Nicholas; P Kirby, B O'Connor; D O'Leary, C Ryan, C O'Neill; C Coughlan, B Purcell, D Hegarty. Subs: B Nix for D O'Leary (25), D Hickey for D Hegarty (48), M Martin for C Coughlan (54), A Shanahan for J Nicholas (60), C Casey for P Kirby (60).

Ref - T Walsh (Waterford)

Subscribe to The Throw-In,'s weekly GAA podcast in association with Allianz, for the best in GAA discussion and analysis every week, with some of the biggest names in football and hurling from Joe Brolly, Tomás Ó'Sé and John Mullane.

Subscribe and listen to The Throw-In podcast on iTunes or SoundCloud.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport