Sunday 18 February 2018

County final glory for Thurles and St Thomas' as Clare decider ends all square

Lar Corbett’s Thurles Sarsfields beat Kiladangan by 0-27 to 1-15 to win the Tipperary SHC title today, just hours after their legendary club president Mickey “The Rattler” Byrne passed away this morning.

Thurles, who had a number of Tipperary's All-Ireland winners in their ranks, secured their 34th county crown after a dominant performance.

St Thomas, 2013 All-Ireland winners, are Galway hurling champions after a 1-11 to 0-10 win over Gort in today’s final in Pearse Stadium.

In Aughrim, Bray Emmets (1-9) and Carnew Emmets (0-12) face a replay after a draw in the Wicklow county final.

Similarly, Four Roads (0-17) and Oran will have to do it all again (3-8) after drawing in the Roscommon SHC final.

There was also a draw between Ballyea and Clonlara (1-11 apiece) in the Clare SHC final in Cusack Park after Clonlara hit a last gasp point to tie the game.

St. Mullin’s were comfortable winners in the Carlow SHC final, as they overcame Mount Leinster Rangers by 2-16 to 0-13.

Oulart-The Ballagh beat Cloughbawn by three points (0-17 to 1-11) to seal the Wexford title and in London, Robert Emmetts triumphed over St Gabriels (2-13 to 1-12) in the SHC final in Greenford.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport