Thursday 22 February 2018

Cluainín grateful to O'Hagan

Cluainín 0-14 Carrick 1-6

Cluainín Iomáint won the Leitrim SHC final Stock photo: Sportsfile
Cluainín Iomáint won the Leitrim SHC final Stock photo: Sportsfile

Cluainín Iomáint beat Carrick Hurling to a fiercely contested title at Páirc Seán Mhic Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon yesterday.

Cluainín corner forward Gavin O’Hagan’s frees were a big contributor for the North Leitrim side and Carrick didn’t point till the 18th minute but then a long ball was pounced on by Liam Moreton who finished to the net, putting Carrick back in the game.

A red card for Conor Behan, who was introduced as a sub only minutes earlier, spoiled things and Cluainín went in 0-7 to 1-2 ahead at the break.

The turning point came minutes later when a Carrick penalty was saved by Karl McDermott in the Cluainín goal.

It fell to set-piece star  O’Hagan to have the last word and his pointed free in the 62nd minute wrapped up the title for Cluainín.

SCORERS – Cluainín: G O’Hagan 0-10 (9f), J Rooney 0-3, N McLoughlin 0-1f. Carrick: V McDermott 0-5 (3f), L Moreton 1-0, J Glancy 0-1.

Cluainín Iomaint – K McDermott; P McLoughlin, S Feeney, M Feely; A McSharry, J O’Brien, P Clerkin; N McLoughlin, M Poniard; P Poniard, J Rooney, K Clerkin; P Clancy, D Poniard, G O’Hagan. Subs: S McTiernan for A McSharry(35); M McKeon for P Clancy (35); C Beattie for P Poniard (60).

Carrick Hurling – F McKiernan; P McKiernan, T Glancy, E Moreton; D Beirne, J McGrail, H Glancy; D Tiernan, J Glancy; C Moreton, C McGuire, C McCrann; G O’Brien, L Moreton, V McDermott. Subs: C Behan for G O’Brien (26); K McGrath for C McGuire (30); D Dixon for H Glancy(51); A Duffy for D Beirne (53); N Flanagan for C McCrann (65).

REF – P Maguire (Sligo)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport