Monday 11 November 2019

Christy Ring Cup winners Meath lead the way with six nominees for new-look Champion 15 selection

Meath players celebrate after the Christy Ring Cup Final match between Down and Meath at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Meath players celebrate after the Christy Ring Cup Final match between Down and Meath at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Michael Verney

Michael Verney

Christy Ring Cup winners Meath head the nominees for this year's GAA/GPA Champion 15 with captain Sean Geraghty one of a Royal sextet bidding to be selected.

This is the first year that a selection of 45 players has been chosen from the Ring, Rackard and Meagher competitions with the new selection process introducing player and coach feedback.

Those selected were finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees with all players competing in the Joe McDonagh Cup excluded as they were considered for the PwC Liam MacCarthy Cup All-Stars.

Ring Cup runners-up Down are also well represented with four nominees including the Sands brothers – Dáithi and Eoghan – while players from the six other competing counties are also selected.

Nicky Rackard Cup winners Sligo are rewarded for their meteoric rise in recent seasons with young skipper James Weir, 19, one of four contenders from the Yeats county as he looks to make the Champion 15 in successive seasons.

Leitrim’s are rewarded for their historic victory in the Lory Meagher Cup final with five spots as captain Declan Molloy seeks a second consecutive Champion 15 award while Lancashire’s Ronan Crowley is also acknowledged after a series of inspirational scoring displays.

The Champion 15 selection will be awarded as part of the PwC All-Stars event in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday November 1 with 20 counties featured across the extensive list of 45.

Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Champion 15 Nominees:

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Simon Doherty, Dean Gaffney, Caolan Rice (all Armagh), Diarmaid Carney (Cavan), Brian Óg McGilligan, Sé McGuigan (both Derry), Danny Cullen (Donegal), Stephen Keith, Dáithi Sands, Eoghan Sands, Caolan Taggart (all Down), John Duffy (Fermanagh), James Burke, Jack Sheridan (both Kildare), Darren Crowley, Ronan Crowley, Greg Jacob (all Lancashire), James Glancy, Declan Molloy, Enda Moreton, Liam Moreton, Gavin O'Hagan (all Leitrim), Shane Lawless (London), David Buckley (Longford), D Geoghegan (Louth), Shane Boland (Mayo), Shane Brennan, Sean Geraghty, Damien Healy, Keith Keoghan, Jack Regan, Shane Whitty (all Meath), Fergal Rafter (Monaghan), Cathal Dolan, Pádraig Kelly (both Roscommon), Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch, Keith Raymond, Joe Starr, James Weir (all Sligo), Damian Casey, Tiernan Morgan (both Tyrone), Willie Allen, John Collins (both Warwickshire), John Henderson, Stephen Kelly (Wicklow).

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport