Thursday 22 February 2018

Cats turn to Walsh for Wexford clash

Paddy Deegan
Paddy Deegan Newsdesk Newsdesk

Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has made just one change for tomorrow's Allianz NHL quarter-final clash with Wexford from the side that saw off Dublin, writes Donnchadh Boyle.

Conor O'Shea picked up a hamstring injury in that game and he is replaced by Ollie Walsh who lines out at midfield. Paddy Deegan moves back to half-back line with Shane Prendergast reverting to the full-back line. Conor Martin, who hit 1-5 against the Dubs, starts in the full-forward line alongside Liam Blanchfield and Richie Hogan.

Clare have made a pair of changes for their relegation play-off with Dublin. Brendan Bugler replaces Jason McCarthy at half-back, while David Reidy replaces Ian Galvin at corner-forward.

John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer is back in the Tipperary team to face Offaly. The Premier men have managed a draw and a defeat from their last two outings but have made five changes for this game with Noel McGrath, Ronan Maher, Seamus Kennedy and Michael Breen all part of a strong-looking side.

Waterford's preparations for tomorrow's clash with Galway have been disrupted by reports that selector Philip Murphy has vacated his position.

Murphy, from the Roanmore club, was drafted in last year following the departure of current Kerry senior team manager Fintan O'Connor as coach.

But it is understood that Murphy informed Waterford boss Derek McGrath this week that he will not be continuing in the role. Dan Shanahan has been overseeing the coaching alongside McGrath this year, with Murphy, a teacher at St Paul's Community College, working alongside them.

But it now appears that McGrath and Shanahan will steer the Waterford ship themselves as the Déise prepare for the trip to Salthill. It is also understood that Roanmore clubman Gavin O'Brien has left the Waterford squad.

O'Brien, however, has grown frustrated by a lack of playing time and his departure is unrelated to Murphy's.

In football, Cavan have made two changes for their make-or-break clash with Roscommon as Niall McDermott and Ciarán Brady come into the side. Mayo make just one change for their clash with Donegal. Diarmuid O'Connor replaces David Drake.

Kerry make three changes for the visit of Tyrone. Anthony Maher, Michael Geaney and Barry John Keane start with Jack Barry, Adrian Spillane and Jack Savage all making way.

Tipperary are expected to be without Emmet Moloney for their Division 3 promotion clash with Armagh after he was injured in a club game last night.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport