Wednesday 22 November 2017

Bubbles starts! Tipp's 'impact sub' is named in the team looking to dethrone Kilkenny

Will Slattery

Will Slattery

John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer has been named in the Tipperary team to face Kilkenny in this Sunday's All-Ireland hurling final.

The 2014 All Star fell out of the side after getting sent off against Limerick in the Munster championship earlier this year, coming off the bench to devastating effect against Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Read more: Brian Cody springs another surprise in the forwards as Kilkenny make two changes for All-Ireland final clash with Tipperary

Bubbles' performance in relief generated an interesting debate as to whether he should be held in reserve for the final or picked from the start to face Brian Cody's men.

Tipp legend Lar Corbett was one of those who felt O'Dwyer should be sprung from the bench but Tipp boss Michael Ryan has named him at corner forward for the decider.

The throw-in is fixed for 3.30pm on Sunday at Croke Park.

1. Darren Gleeson

2. Cathal Barrett

3. James Barry

4. Michael Cahill

5. Seamus Kennedy

6. Ronan Maher

7. Padraic Maher

8. Brendan Maher

9. Michael Breen

10. Dan McCormack

11. Patrick Maher

12. Noel McGrath

13. John O'Dwyer

14. Seamus Callanan

15. John McGrath

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport