Friday 20 April 2018

Brian Cody springs another surprise in the forwards as Kilkenny make two changes for All-Ireland final clash with Tipperary

Will Slattery

Will Slattery

Kilkenny have made two changes for Sunday's All-Ireland final against Tipperary with Mark Bergin and Michael Fennelly dropping out in place of Kevin Kelly and Kieran Joyce.

Fennelly ruptured his achilles in the semi-final replay win over Waterford, ruling him out of this weekend's game. The three-time All Star is replaced in the side by Joyce, who started the Cats' final wins in 2012, 2014 and 2015.

Read more: Six soldiers will do the Irish Defence Forces proud on All-Ireland hurling final Sunday

Kelly is named in place of Bergin, who started against the Deise in Thurles despite not being named in the team, at corner forward.

The throw-in is fixed for 3.30pm on Sunday.


1 Eoin Murphy Glenmore

2 Paul Murphy Danesfort

3 Joey Holden Ballyhale Shamrocks

4 Shane Prendergast Clara

5 Padraig Walsh Tullaroan

6 Kieran Joyce Rower Inistioge

7 Cillian Buckley Dicksboro

8 T J Reid Ballyhale Shamrocks

9 Conor Fogarty Erins Own

10 Walter Walsh Tullogher Rosbercon

11 Richie Hogan Danesfort

12 Eoin Larkin James Stephens

13 Kevin Kelly St Patricks

14 Colin Fennelly Ballyhale Shamrocks

15 Liam Blanchfield Bennettsbridge


16 Richie Reid Ballyhale Shamrocks

17 Jackie Tyrrell James Stephens

18 Robert Lennon Bennettsbridge

19 Diarmuid Cody James Stephens

20 Conor O Shea Clara

21 Lester Ryan Clara

22 Jonjo Farrell Thomastown

23 John Power Carrickshock

24 Mark Bergin O'Loughlin Gaels

25 Conor Martin Emeralds

26 Michael Malone Mullinavat

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport