| 13.1°C Dublin

Boran shines to help Naas bridge 17-year gap

Naas 0-15 Coill Dubh 0-12


Jack Sheridan of Naas. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Jack Sheridan of Naas. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile


Jack Sheridan of Naas. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Naas hurlers deservedly claimed their first senior county title in 17 years, overcoming a resilient Coill Dubh in Newbridge.

The club has dominated underage hurling in Kildare in recent seasons and in addition to claiming junior and intermediate titles this season, they also added the minor crown in yesterday's curtain-raiser.

But there was no question that senior honours was what they needed after losing two finals in the last four years.

They led 0-9 to 0-5 at half-time but should have been further ahead. Their half-back line was superb, and centre-back Rian Boran was named man of the match, snuffing out the Coill Dubh forward line.

Meanwhile, star forward Jack Sheridan (above) had a rare off day in front of the posts. Three points in a row put Naas 0-12 to 0-7 ahead by the 40th minute, but with the finishing line in sight they began to slow up.

They went 17 minutes without a score and Coill Dubh were able to get back to within two points.

The excellent Brian Byrne got Naas back on the scoresheet in the 56th minute and points from Mick Purcell and a free from inside his own '45 by Jack Sheridan sealed the win despite Coill Dubh rallying and scoring the last two points of the game.

Scorers - Naas: B Byrne 0-8 (3 '65s, 4f); J Burke, J Sheridan 0-2 (2f) each; Cathal Dowling, M Purcell, S Ryan 0-1 each. Coill Dubh: M Delaney 0-7 (6f); J Byrne 0-2; D Flaherty, R Casey D Cahill 0-1 (f) each.
NAAS - C Gallagher; C Gormley, R Hogan, D MacSweeney; P Sullivan, R Boran, S Leacy; S Broderick, B Byrne; P Cocoman, J Sheridan, R Kelly; J Burke, C Dowling, S Ryan. Subs: S Gainey for Gormley (3); M Purcell for Cocoman (50); D MacDonncha for MacSweeney (55); C Dowling for Ryan (59); Mark Nevin for Cathal Dowling (60+2).
COILL DUBH - O Lenehan; D Cahill, D Brereton, J Kenny; B Mullins, M Grace, C Gordon; R Carew, L O'Reilly; R Casey, D Flaherty, T Brady; M Delaney, J Byrne, M Byrne. Sub: R Hayden for Kenny (h-t).
REF - D Coady

Irish Independent