Sunday 22 April 2018

Billy McCarthy's magic does the trick for Thurles

Thurles CBS 2-12 Rochestown 1-12 (Harty Cup final)

Enda Heffernan, Thurles CBS, in action against Ciaran Cormack, St Francis College, Rochestown
Enda Heffernan, Thurles CBS, in action against Ciaran Cormack, St Francis College, Rochestown
Diarmuid O'Mahony, St Francis College, supported by team-mate Eoghan O'Brien, right, in action against Cathal Moloney, Thurles CBS, Rochestown
Sean Powter, St Francis College, dejected after the game

BILLY McCarthy’s scoring heroics helped to secure an eighth Harty Cup success for Thurles CBS in Mallow.

The first-half goalscorer bagged two late points as Thurles came from behind to claim the coveted silverware for the first time since 2009, in front of 1,931 spectators.

In the process, Thurles foiled first-time finalists St Francis College, Rochestown, who do have a Corn Uí Mhuirí football decider to fall back on against PS Chorca Dhuibhne next Saturday.

But that will be scant consolation for the Cork boys, who came from four points down (1-6 to 2-7) at half-time to lead with 11 minutes remaining.

Thurles responded with four unanswered points to win by three, although they lost Niall Heffernan to a second yellow card in the final minute. First-half goals from Kevin Duggan and McCarthy helped Thurles to hit back after Ciarán Cormack’s tenth-minute strike.

Cormack, who was in good form from placed balls, raced through for a sensational solo goal to hand Rochestown an early platform in a tie that was level five times.

But Duggan responded for Thurles in the 16th minute and on the stroke of half-time, McCarthy was rewarded for a foray into enemy territory with a crucial goal.

Scorers — Thurles CBS: B McCarthy 1-2, K Duggan 1-1, N Heffernan 0-4f, R Long 0-2, P Kennedy, R Teehan & M Connors 0-1 each. Rochestown: C Cormack 1-6 (5fs), S Kingston 0-4, S Powter and D Meaney 0-1 each.

Thurles CBS: W Tierney; D Quirke, E Heffernan, J Derby; T Hayes, J Skehan, C McCullagh; B McCarthy, C Moloney; N Heffernan, K Duggan, P Kennedy; J Butler, R Teehan, R Long. Subs: M Connors for Butler (54), R Purcell for Moloney (56).

Rochestown: A Cullinane; D Murphy, J Cashman, N Walsh; D Kelliher, D Griffin, C Sheehan; E O’Brien, J O’Sullivan; C Cormack, D O’Mahony, S Kington; D Meaney, S Powter, L O’Sullivan. Subs: K O’Donovan for Sheehan (30), M McAuliffe for L O’Sullivan (33), J Holland for O’Mahony (37), L Dineen for O’Brien (60).

Referee: D Fox (Clare)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport