Tuesday 16 October 2018

Allianz HL Div 2b: Fired-up Coulter burns Orchard

Donegal 2-17 Armagh 1-17

(stock photo)
(stock photo)

independent.ie Sportsdesk

The Donegal hurling revival continues apace following this victory over Armagh at the Athletic Grounds to guarantee their status in Division 2B again next year while Armagh will now face Derry in a relegation shoot-out.

The sides were deadlocked at the break, Declan Coulter's 19th-minute goal a valuable contribution to the visitors' 1-6 total, while David Carvill helped himself to six of Armagh's nine points.

Donegal turned the screw when Coulter converted a 40th-minute penalty which helped to put his side into a 2-9 to 0-10 lead. Armagh were hanging on and even though Lafferty and Matthewson joined Henderson in pilfering points, Donegal's lead was trimmed to three points. Carvill drilled home a penalty in added time, but it was too little too late.

Scorers - Armagh: D Carvill 1-12 (1-0 pen, 5fS, '65), S Renaghan, R Gaffney, E McGuinness, C Carvill, K McKernan 0-1 each. Donegal: L Henderson 0-8 (5fs), D Coulter 2-1 (1-0 pen), C Matthewson 0-3, B Lafferty 0-2, D Cullen, D Flynn, R McDermott 0-1 each.

Armagh: S Doherty 6; C Clifford 6, A McGuinness 6, D Bridges 6; J Corvan, P Gaffney 6, N Green 5; S Renaghan 6, K McKernan 7; R Gaffney 6, C Carvill 7, D Carvill 9; D McKenna 5, E McGuinness 6, L Woods 5. Subs: P Quinn 5 for Green (52 mins), P McKearney 5 for Woods (52), B Shortt 5 for McKenna (60), C McAnallen 5 for McGuinness (70).

Donegal: P Burns 7; P Doherty 7, C McDermott 7, S Gillespie 6; N Cleary 5, D Cullen 7, C Matthewson 7; J Boyle 6, L Henderson 8; D Flynn 7, S McVeigh 6, R McDermott 6; D Coulter 8, B Lafferty 7, G Gilmore 6. Subs: G Brown 6 for Cleary (27), E McDermott 5 for Lafferty (61), K Campbell 5 for Henderson (69).

Ref - K McGeeney (Roscommon)


On song Sands eases Down past Mayo

Down 3-19 Mayo 0-14

Having already qualified for the divisional league final, Mayo started just six of the players who started their Round 4 victory against Wicklow yesterday.

Shane Boland opened the scoring, but Mayo played second fiddle to Down throughout the first period. Mayo's response was restricted to pointed frees from Boland and Corey Scahill. The key score of the half was Eoghan Sands' blast to the net. If Down had been clinical the score would have been more impressive than 1-11 to 0-5.

As Down stretched to a 14-point win, Liam Savage and Daithí Sands snatched goals in the last 10 minutes, while the in-form Declan McManus finished with four points.

Scorers - Down: P Sheehan 0-6 (4f), D Sands 1-2, D Mc Manus 0-5, E Sands 1-1, L Savage 1-0, M Fisher 0-2 (1f); C Bailie, C Teggart M Magee 0-1 each Mayo: S Boland 0-7 (7f), C Scahill 0-2, B Douglas, K Feeney (1f), K Higgins D McTigue (0-1), J Cotter 0-1 each

Down - S Keith 7; B Byers 7, C Teggart 7, M Hughes 7; P McManus 7, J McManus 8, M Fisher 7, R Branagan 7, M Magee 7; C Bailie 7, D McManus 8; P Og McCrickard 7, P Sheehan 7, E Sands 7, D Sands 8. Subs: L Savage 7 for Sheehan 64 mins, A O'Prey 7 for McCrickard 58 mins, P Branagan 7 for P McManus 66 mins, R McCrickard for R Branagan 66 mins, S Conlan 7 for Magee 68 mins

Mayo - M Parsons 6 ; A Brennan 6, M Morley 6, D Huane 6; C Henry 7, C Daly 7, T Sweeney 7; J Cotter 7, C Murray 6; B Morley 6, P O'Flynn 5, B Douglas 7; S Boland 7, C Scahill 7, J Coyne 6.

Subs: Donal O'Brien 6 for Parsons 35 mins, K Feeney 7 for Coyne 35 mins, David Kenny 7 for Huane 35 mins, Keith Higgins 6 for Murray 59 mins, Darren McTigue 7 for Morley 53 mins


O'Briens' goals crucial for Garden

Wicklow 3-15 Derry 2-13

Goals from George and Andy O'Brien were the difference between Wicklow and Derry yesterday, as the Oak Leaf men go into a relegation play-off while the Garden County finish third in a disappointing season.

Derry led by 0-5 to 0-2 on 11 minutes but wouldn't score for another 20 minutes, during which time Wicklow added 1-4 - George O'Brien with the goal - to take control.

Derry responded well, but Andy O'Brien's goal gave them a six point lead at half-time, 2-8 to 0-8.

Meehaul McGrath scored a goal to reduce the deficit after the break, before Andy O'Brien found the net again.

Padraig Doyle's dismissal gave Derry a lifeline, but Wicklow stepped it up again.

Scorers - Wicklow: A O'Brien 2-4 (1 65, 1f), G O'Brien 1-3, J Connors 0-5 (2f), D Staunton 0-2, R Keddy 0-1. Derry: A Grant (3f) 0-5, M McGrath 1-1, A O'Donnell 1-0, C O'Doherty 0-2, L Murphy, M McGuigan, C Murphy, B Quigley, N Waldron 0-1 each.

Wicklow - R Fitzgerald 7; E Byrne 7, S Kelly 8, M O'Brien 7; G Byrne 7, W Kavanagh 8, E Kearns 7; R Keddy 7, D Staunton 8; J Connors 8, J Henderson 7, S Germaine 7; P Doyle 6, A O'Brien 7, G O'Brien 8. Subs: J Doyle 6 for S Germaine (56), P Keane 7 for Garry Byrne (61), B Cuddihy 7 for Martin O'Brien (64), E McCormack (not on long enough) for Andy O'Brien (69).

Derry - M Kirkpatrick 6; N Farran 7, P Turner 6, D McCloskey 7; N Waldron 6, C Steele 7, J Phelan 6; T Magee 6, M McGuigan 7; A Grant 7, M McGrath 7, Colm Murphy 8; L Murphy 6, C O'Doherty 7, D Cartin 6. Subs: J Mullan 6 for P Turner (23), N Smyth 6 for L Murphy (HT), A O'Donnell 7 for D Cartin (38), B Quigley 7 for T Magee (45), T Rankin 6 for A Grant (58, inj.).

Ref - P Burke (Kilkenny)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport