Thursday 22 August 2019

Windsor on target as Loman's secure place in last four with some ease

St Loman's 2-10 Rathnew 1-6

St Loman's Kieran Lynam celebrates emphatically after the game
St Loman's Kieran Lynam celebrates emphatically after the game
Garry Grehan of St Loman's attempts to steer away from Graham Merrigan, Rathnew Newsdesk Newsdesk

St Loman's qualified for the semi-final of the Leinster club championship as a result of a seven-point win over 13-man Rathnew at rain-soaked Aughrim, yesterday.

This is a fine achievement by the Westmeath Club, considering they had not won the senior football title in their county for 50 years, up to two years ago.

Rathnew had midfielder James Stafford and full-forward Jody Merrigan sent off in the final quarter for red-card tackles.

But in truth, their separate dismissals had no real bearing on the result as Luke Dempsey's men were the clear masters of play.

The Saints' midfielders Adam Gaffney and Paul Sharry controlled play in the centre of the park, centre-forward John Heslin was the fulcrum of attack, while Loman's were very tight at the back.

The Lake County team raced into a seven-point lead in the first quarter, with David Windsor rifling into the net.

Rathnew were 1-4 behind before Jody Merrigan got them off the mark from a free and then minutes before half time, John Manley picked out James Stafford at the far post and he punched a goal to give the men from the Wicklow village some hope, trailing 1-6 to 1-1 at the break.

Nicky Mernagh increased expectation when he cut the margin to four, five minutes after the restart, but St Loman's soon settled back into a commanding role, midfielder Adam Gaffney adding a late second goal to copper-fasten their win.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers - St Loman's: D Windsor, A Gaffney 1-0 each; K Heslin 0-4 (4f), K Reilly 0-2, K Lynam, P Sharry (45), K Casey and S Dempsey 0-1 each. Rathnew: J Stafford 1-0, Jody Merrigan 0-3 (3f), R O'Brien, N Mernagh, L Glynn 0-1 each.

Rathnew - P Dignam; P Merrigan, D Power, J Snell; W Kavanagh, R O'Brien, J Manley; A Merriman, J Stafford; E Glynn, L Glynn, T Smyth; N Mernagh, J Merrigan, S Byrne. Subs: G Merrigan for S Byrne, J Byrne for Smyth.

St Loman's - J Daly; G Grehan, S Flynn, J O'Toole; G Glennon, P Dowdall, D Whelan; A Gaffney, P Sharry; K Lynam, J Heslin, D Windsor; K Casey, K Reilly, S Dempsey. Subs: R O'Toole for Dowdall, C Reilly for Windsor, K Kilmurray for Dempsey.

Ref - C Reilly (Meath).

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport