Sunday 25 February 2018

Whitewash! This year's Footballer of the Year will definitely be from Dublin

Jim Gavin's champions have three nominations

Jack McCaffrey is one of three Dublin players nominated for the Player of the Year award
Jack McCaffrey is one of three Dublin players nominated for the Player of the Year award
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Dublin will have the Footballer of the Year vote all to themselves after a trio of their All-Ireland winners were nominated yesterday.

The names of Jack McCaffrey, Philly McMahon and Bernard Brogan will be put to inter-county football squads in the coming weeks to decide who should succeed James O'Donoghue in 2015.

McCaffrey has been a front-runner through League and much of the Championship but is facing strong challenges from Brogan, who bagged 6-20 from play this summer, and McMahon, who turned the tables on Aidan O'Shea and Colm Coper in his last two matches.

McMahon is facing a one-match ban for an incident involving Kieran Donaghy in the All-Ireland final after the CCCC completed a review last week.

Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor, Donegal's Ryan McHugh and Monaghan's Ryan Wylie have made the shortlist for Young Footballer of the Year.

Meanwhile, Mayo's executive committee were meeting last night for the first time since the senior management duo Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly were informed by the players over the weekend that they had no confidence in them.

It is expected that tonight's scheduled review with squad representatives Keith Higgins and Cillian O'Connor will go ahead.

Some bookmakers have made Corofin's All-Ireland winning club manager Stephen Rochford the new favourite to take over if Connelly and Holmes decide to step down.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport