Sunday 18 February 2018

Wexford and Kildare advance in Leinster junior championship

GAA 8/10/2008
General view of the GAA crest
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie *** Local Caption ***
GAA 8/10/2008 General view of the GAA crest Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie *** Local Caption ***

Brendan Furlong and Jonathan O'Meara

Wexford and Kildare both advanced in the Leinster junior championship tonight with wins over Wicklow and Kildare respectively.

Wexford eased to a comfortable twenty-one point victory over a disappointing Wicklow in Enniscorthy last night.

Little separated the opening sides through the opening quarter at the end of which Wexford led 0-5 to 0-2.  However the homeside soon became to turn their possession into scores as a splendid Graham Carty goal on twenty minutes eased them into a 1-5 to 0-3 lead.

Wicklow responded with points from Eamonn Woulfe and a Paul Cronin free, but it was Wexford who finished the half with points from Conor Sinnott, three, and Jamie Carty, all placed balls, to lead 1-10 to 0-5 at the interval.

The Garden County had the opening second half point from a Paddy Byrne free, but that proved their solitary second half score, as Wexford assumed control adding two goals through Ciaran Redmond after thirty-eight and forty minutes, to lead 3-12 to 0-6. Thereafter they went on to pick off scores at will in a totally one-sided second half.

Wexford: C Sinnott 0-8, 5f, 1, 45, C Redmond 2-1, G Carty 1-0, N Hughes, N Harney, J Carty (2f) 0-2 each, S Byrne, K Rowe, L Devereux 0-1 each.

Wicklow: P Byrne (2f) 0-3; P Cronin 0-2 frees, E Woulfe 0-1.

Wexford: A Masgterson; R Vallego, J Rossiter, J Wadding; P O'Keeffe, G Malonbe, N Rossiter; S Byrne, J Carty; N Hughes, E Kent, G Carty; C Redmond, K Rowe, C Sinnott. Subs: K Butler for O'Keeffe (b.c.); N harney for Hughes; D Murphy for Redmond; L Devereux for Rowe; P Travers for Sinnott; N Roche for Vallego.

Wicklow: A Murphy; B Kennedy,P Higgins, M O'Brien; J crowe, R O'Brien, J Small; D Woods, D Boothman; S McGraynor, C Tyrrell, C French; P Cronin, E woulfe, P Byrns. Subs: T Donoghue for O'Brien;  P Cunningham for O'Brien (b.c.).

Referee: D Hickey (Carlow).

Longford 2-09 Kildare 0-10

Longford easily progressed to round two of the Leinster Junior Championship following a comfortable victory over Kildare at Pearse Park last night.

The hosts had too much fire power up front for the Lilywhites who played second fiddle to their Leinster counterpart all evening.

The mildanders strolled into a three point advantage inside the opening quarter. Longford’s towering centre-forward Darren Gallagher completely dominated the aerial possession throughout this one sided encounter and registered an impressive four point tally. 

Kildare enjoyed their best spell of football towards the later stages of this first half and despite facing an uphill battle, they endevoured to bridge the gap, thanks to their main play maker Cian Bolton who fired over three points while a wonderful point from Jason Acton kept them in touch. 

Longford nonetheless regrouped swiftly and put a degree of daylight between the teams in the 26th minute after Andrew Dalton smartly broke loose of his marker and brilliantly found the back of the net and in doing so gave his side a three point lead at the turnover.

After the interval, Longford continued to dictate the pace of the exchanges in midfield. Conor Quaine and Fergal Sheridan pushed deeper into attack and when Larry Moran spotted Vinny Hourican taking up an excellent position outside the small rectangle. Hourican displayed his eye for goal and rounded off a well crafted move to the back of the Kildare net.

Scores: Longford: A Dalton 1-1, D Gallagher 0-4,4f, V Hourican 1-0 C Shields 0-2, L Moran 0-1f, F Sheridan 0-1 each

Kildare: C Bolton 0-4,2f, S Hanafin 0-3f, J Acton , N Devane , A O’Neill 0-1 each 

Longford: G Higgins; R Sweeney, A Farrell, T Gallagher; M Gorman, E Macken, B Devine; F Sheridan, C Quaine; V Hourican, D Gallagher, P Farrell, L Moran, A Dalton, C Shields;

Subs: S Lynch for P Farrell 43rd, G Kelly for D Gallagher 53rd, K Moran for M Gorman 59th

Kildare:  M Herbert; M Hyland, G Farrell, E Powderly; C O’Shea, J Mulpeter, C Fagan; M Donnelly, R Walsh; N Devane, S Hanafin, J Acton; A Mullins, C Bolton, B Mulally.

Subs: A O’Neill for B Mulally ht, C Byrne for N Devane 58th, S Maughan for M Donnelly 59th, K Corrigan for C Fagan 57th,

Referee: D Fedigan (Louth)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport