Wednesday 17 January 2018

Video: Dubs give league debut to Tyrone native Quinn

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

TYRONE native Paddy Quinn, who joined Na Fianna five years ago, will make his NFL debut for Dublin against Cork tomorrow after being selected at wing-forward in Jim Gavin's first league selection.

Former minor star Jack McCaffrey starts at wing-back and Declan O'Mahony partners Michael Darragh Macauley in midfield due to Denis Bastick's suspension.

Cork football manager Conor Counihan has given U-21 Damien Cahalane his first league start at wing-back.

Donegal are rolling out the big guns against Kildare, starting the season with 13 of their All-Ireland winning 15.

Footballer of the Year Karl Lacey (hip) and All Star midfielder Neil Gallagher (groin) are the only two missing, giving Declan Walsh and Martin McElhinney a chance to stake their claim in a formidable-looking line-up.

Meanwhile, Dublin hurlers' Walsh Cup quarter-final with Galway tomorrow has been moved from Parnell Park to St Peregrine's on Blakestown Road.

DUBLIN (SF v Cork) – S Cluxton; J Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, K O'Brien; D Daly, G Brennan, J McCaffrey; MD Macauley, D O'Mahony; P Flynn, P Andrews, P Quinn; K McMenamon, D Connolly, B Brogan.

CORK (SF v Dublin) – K O'Halloran; E Cadogan, M Shields, J O'Sullivan; P Kissane, G Canty, D Cahalane; A O'Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, P O'Neill, C Sheehan; C O'Neill, D O'Connor, P Kerrigan.

DONEGAL(SF v Kildare) – P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; F McGlynn, D Walsh, A Thompson; R Kavanagh, M McElhinney; M McHugh, L McLoone, R Bradley; DC McFadden, M Murphy, P McBrearty.

CORK (SH v Clare) – A Nash; C O'Sullivan, M Ellis, P O'Sullivan; C Spillane, C Joyce, S White; D Kearney, R O'Shea; B Corry, C McCarthy, C Murphy; A Mannix, S Moylan, J Coughlan.

TYRONE (SF v Down) – N Morgan; A McCrory, C Gormley, C McCarron; R McKenna, J McMahon, R McNamee; P Kane, S Cavanagh; K Gallagher, P Harte, Matthew Donnelly; C McAliskey, S O'Neill, Mark Donnelly.

LAOIS (SF v Armagh) – E Culliton; C Healy, K Meaney, P O'Leary; D Strong, J O'Loughlin, C Boyle; B Quigley, C Begley; R Munnelly, G Walsh, B Sheehan; D Kingston, P Clancy, C Kelly.

CARLOW (SF v Tipperary) – T O'Reilly; BJ Molloy, S Mernangh, B Kavanagh; K Nolan, D Hayden, T Bolger; D Foley, S Redmond; R Walker, P Reid,E Ruth; Brian Murphy, W Minchin, D St Ledger.

DERRY (SF v Galway) – E McNicholl; R Ferris, D McBride, C McWilliams; C McKaigue, M Lynch, SL McGoldrick; Patsy Bradley, PJ McCloskey; E Lynn, R Bell, D Heavron; C Devlin, E Bradley, J Kielt.

WATERFORD (SF v Clare) – S Enright; C Phelan, S Prendergast, J Hurney; P Whyte, S Briggs, T Grey; S Aherne, T Prendergast, C McGrath, P Hurney, M O'Gorman; D Guiry, R Aherne, L O'Lionain.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport