Friday 15 December 2017

Vaughan leads Rebels' power surge in march to 29th crown

Cork 1-18 Waterford 0-9

Cork coasted to their 29th provincial title at this grade at Fraher Field, packing too much power and poise for their hosts as 11 different scorers contributed to an easy win.

Munster JFC Final

The Rebels established midfield superiority in the first half and departed with a commanding 0-9 to 0-2 lead. The hosts began in sprightly fashion as full-forward Gavin Crotty bagged two points with only three minutes gone.

They struggled to get their hands on possession thereafter, however, and failed to score for the remainder of the half.

The accurate Cathal Vaughan landed four points for Cork and Fiachra Lynch chipped in with two. Corner-back AJ O'Connor also got in on the act with a splendid solo effort.

After the change of ends, Cork continued to rack up the scores at ease. Sub Michael Vaughan struck a fine point on his introduction and Cathal Vaughan stretched the gap to nine. Brian Phelan ended a 32-minute barren scoring spell for Waterford but it mattered little.

Cathal Vaughan and Lynch continued to shoot with precision up front and Cork added the icing with 11 minutes left as centre-back Rory O'Sullivan slotted a goal to the bottom corner after another slick move.

Scorers – Cork: C Vaughan 0-6 (5fs), F Lynch 0-4, R O'Sullivan 1-0, AJ O'Connor, C O'Driscoll, R Deane, M O'Leary, M Vaughan, K O'Driscoll, D Harrington, M Sugrue 0-1 each. Waterford: G Crotty, J Wall (2f), D Power 0-2 each, D Grey, B Phelan, S Prendergast 0-1 each.

Cork – D Hanrahan; AJ O'Connor, E O'Mahony, K Harrington; Rory O'Sullivan, Richard O'Sullivan, S Kiely; R Deane, M O'Leary; C Vaughan, K O'Driscoll, C O'Driscoll; E Buckley, F Lynch, D Harrington. Subs: M Vaughan for Buckley (h-t), P Daly for O'Mahony (52), M Sugrue for Harrington (52), S Hickey for C Vaughan (54), J Cronin for O'Connor (54).

Waterford – T Wall; P Crowley, B Prendergast, S Lannon; J O'Mahony, E Rockett, R Hennessy; B Phelan, S Prendergast; D Guiry, B McGarr, D Grey; J Wall, G Crotty, D Power. Subs: R O Ceallaigh for B Prendergast (h-t), C Guiry for McGarr (40), C O'Shea for Power (50), M Curry for D Guiry (50).

Ref – S Joy (Kerry)

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport