Monday 18 December 2017

Ulster U21 Football

cavan 1-13
fermanagh 1-7
donegal 0-8
antrim 0-5
Down 0-15
Tyrone 1-12
Monaghan 1-12
Derry 1-8

Cavan cruised into the next round after easily overcoming a feeble Fermanagh challenge at Brewster Park last night.

Fermanagh had no answer to Niall McDermott at full-forward and Barry Reilly at half-forward as the Breffni men gained control from the off. Fermanagh did score a goal through Joe O'Brien after 10 minutes of the second half, but it was only a consolation.

scorers -- Cavan: J Brady 0-4 (4f), N Smith 1-0, N McDermott 0-3, B Reilly 0-2 (1f), G McKiernan 0-2, P Leddy, N Mullan 0-1 each. Fermanagh: J O'Brien 1-0, S Quigley 0-3, (1 f) J Feeley, K Connor, R Jones, R Ferguson 0-1 each.

Cavan -- A O'Mara; M Leddy, O Moynagh, D Tighe; K Meehan, D Barkey, M Brady; G McKiernan, F Flanagan; N Smith, N Murray, B Reilly; J Brady, N McDermott, P Leddy. Subs: T Mooney for Tighe (h-t), C McClarey for Brady (20), B Tully for M Brady (23), S Nolan for Smith (26), N McKerrinan for Leddy (30).

Fermanagh -- M Jackson; R Leonard, P Leonard, C Mulligan; K Connor, B Cox, A Breen; R O'Callaghan, R Jones; J O'Brien, J Feeley, T Corrigan; S Quigley, C O'Brien, D McCusker. Blood sub: R Corrigan for C O'Brien (12).

Subs: R Corrigan for Feeley (35), R Ferguson for T Corrigan (20), V O'Brien for R Leonard (26).

Ref -- C O'Hagan (Tyrone).

Donegal got the defence of their title off to a shaky start at MacCumhaill Park, Ballybofey last night.

Three frees and a point from Peter McNelis had Donegal ahead 0-4 to 0-2 ahead at the break.

There was little between the sides in the second half, but two points from Daniel McLaughlin and Odhran McNelis pushed Donegal clear at the finish.

SCORERS -- Donegal: D Molloy 0-2 (2f), T McKinley, M McHugh (1f), D McLaughlin, O McNiallais, P McNelis, K McFadden 0-1 each. Antrim: M Armstrong 0-2, M Kane, O McLarnon (1f), C McGradh (1f) 0-1 each.

Donegal -- P Boyle; S Doak, E Doherty, L Keaney; M McHugh, T McKinley, S O'Kennedy; C Classon, A McFadden; N Mullins, O Mac Niallais, D McLaughlin, D Molloy, R McErlean, S Corcoran. Subs: P McNelis for Mullins (22), K McFadden for McErlean (37), A Kelly for Doak (51).

Antrim -- J McNabb; J Lavery, R Johnson, M Johnson; M McAleese, D Quinn, P Owens; J Carron, D Lynch; M Armstong, A McLarnon, M Kane; C Fleming, M Kelly, E McNeill. Subs: Cormac McGrady for McLarnon (43), F Cassidy for Fleming (49), D McGarrity for Kelly (51).

Ref -- JJ Cleary (Derry).

(After extra-time)

THESE sides meet again in Omagh next Wednesday following last night's thrilling stalemate after extra-time at Pairc Esler.

Diarmuid McNulty crossed to the far post for Mattie Donnelly to palm to the net to give Tyrone a 1-6 to 0-7 interval lead, while Ronan O'Neill's fifth point for the Red Hands' tied it up at 0-12 to 1-9 and sent the game into extra time.

scorers -- Down: D Savage 0-5 (5f), B O'Reilly 0-3 (2f), P McPolin 0-2, C Harrison, R Brady, C Poland, C Clarke, P Devlin 0-1 each. Tyrone: M Donnelly 1-2, R O'Neill 0-6 (3f), P McNeice 0-3 (3f), K Coney 0-1.

Down -- C Heaney; M Higgins, P Boyle, R McAleenan; A Brannigan, P Bonny, D McKibben; K Quinn, C Poland; B O'Reilly, P McPolin, C Clarke; D Savage, C Harrison, R Brady. Subs: P Devlin for Clarke, A McArdle for Boyle, R O'Hare for Harrison, G McAnulty for McAleenan, Clarke for Savage, D McEntee for Brannigan, N McParland for O'Reilly.

Tyrone -- N Morgan; M Slane, R McNamee, F McQuaid; K Mossey, R Pickering, T McCann; N McKenna, R Keenan; P McNeice, P Harte, D McNulty; R O'Neill, J McCullagh, M Donnelly. Subs: R McNabb for Mossey, K Coney for Keenan, S McKenna for Slane, R Donnelly for McCullagh, N Sludden for McCann, B McGarvey for S McKenna.

Ref -- D Helferty (Monaghan).

A swirling mist made for poor visibility at times in this cracking contest in Inniskeen with both teams adopting an all out attacking strategy.

Derry started the brighter with a brace of points from Lee Moore, but Monaghan led at half-time by 1-6 to 1-5. Five points without reply between the 15th and 24th minutes put the winners in the driving seat.

Scorers -- Monaghan: C McGuinness 0-6 (4f), P Dooney 1-1, K McEnaney 0-2, J McCarron, D Malone and M Hanratty 0-1 each. Derry: C O'Boyle 1-3 (0-3f), L Moore 0-3, B Heron 0-2 (1f).

Monaghan -- R Beggan; C Walshe, F Kelly, S Dooney; P Boyle, K Duffy, D Millar; P Dooney, P O'Hara; K Mooney, D Malone, P O'Hanlon; C McGuinness, K McEnaney, M Hanratty. Subs: J McCarron for K Mooney, D McKenna for M Hanratty.

Derry -- A Warnock; K Johnston, D Dillon, J Devlin; D McGuckian, C McWilliams, R Ferris; C O'Boyle, B Doyle; N Forrester, E McGuckian, A Devlin; B Herron, C McGoldrick, L Moore. Subs: A Mullan for A Devlin, T Brady for C McWilliams, R McElhinney for E McGuckian.

Ref -- G Corrigan (Down).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport